Gardens? Hello gardens? Are you there?

It’s coming up to that time of the year, folks. My gardens are SCREAMING for some attention. We have plans for all the gardens this year, but whether or not we do them is another matter. Husband has been doing a lot of side jobs this last year and he can’t seem to shake the habit. I took these pictures yesterday.

Garden - veggie, April '14This is my veggie garden, but right now, it’s a mass of weeds, dead crops from last season and a couple buckets of ash from the woodstove. That white thing you see is part of a clothes rack we had for drying clothes by the woodstove. I can’t remember what reason Husband put it in there.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Garden - front, April '14This is the front garden. That big green blob are Bachelor Buttons. They’re a nice purple/blue and I planted a few of them, but this is the only one that survived. That other green blob farther up and to the left is a ferny kind of perennial and I think one of the two we have to relocate. There are two that get so tall they crowd out everything else. My peonies, that light brown blob at the top of the picture, haven’t bothered to poke their buds out yet. I don’t blame them.

 

 

 

 

 

Garden - side, April '14This is the side garden. For years I would get down on my hands and knees and dig up the grass and other stuff. I’m not going to bother anymore. I think I’ll plant spring bulbs in here and let them go wild. The former owner dug up all the bulbs before she moved (bitch), but she missed a few and they multiplied. We tried planting some evergreen shrubs but because the dryer vent is right there, they died off. The plant that’s there is called a spirea and has beautiful white flowers all over it.

 

 

 

 

 

Garden - well, April '14This is the well. I planted tulips on three sides one year and they still keep coming up. I was going to have a whole slew of spring bulbs around it, I still may too.

Hopefully in the next couple of weeks we can get out and make them look a little better. Husband has a great idea for the barrels this year and I’m excited about experimenting!

Are you gardening this year?

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

8 Responses to Gardens? Hello gardens? Are you there?

  1. We warmed up weeks ago so my gardens are already in bloom. This year (understanding full well your plight of digging out weeds on my hands and knees) I’ve decided to put down a weed barrier in a few areas so only the plants I actually planted come up.

    So far it’s working well, but the season just started so we’ll see how it looks at the end of summer.

    You might consider doing something else in that area with the dryer vent. (I’ve had the same problem too.) You could do a mini rock garden there with a statue or water feature as the centerpiece.

    At my last house, we put down weed barrier cloth then covered that with lava rock, but any native rock will look nice too. I dotted it with some potted plants and a small cast iron bird feeder.

  2. Already gardening here, too. Have cut back ornamental grasses, mulched beds in front (back is all ivy and hostas and ferns, no need for mulch.) Hostas are coming up, daffodils nearly finished,

    I have a side bed like yours, dryer vent included, too. it’s filled with daffodils, bearded iris, and lily of the valley, all nearly indestructible. In the few spaces, I planted a couple four-o-clocks, which seed profusely, so they fill in after the others are done blooming. The only real care is cutting back the iris leaves in the fall and a bit of weeding, not much. The lily of the valley is thick. Oh, and a bit of mint that I do have to stay after, but it fills space, tastes and smells good, and doesn’t take much care except making sure it doesn’t take over.

    And it does look like my azalea survived last week’s freeze and snow. 🙂

    • Oh those are some great ideas! Thanks! And great to hear about your azaleas! Hmmm…mint. I might have to try that or some other perennial herb. We have thyme growing wild in our front lawn. Smells nice when Husband mows. 😀

  3. I’m not gardening this year. I’ll be gone most of the summer. But I like the way things are shaping up in your garden, and that’s a pretty well!

  4. My flower beds look so bad! I’m hoping to start working on them next week!

    • That’s what I’m hoping for too. I bought some new knee pads and gloves (because I always lose my gloves), and some glad bulbs. I’m going to try and spruce up that front garden this year.

Leave a Reply

