Writers and Prose; Don’t be a disrespectful author. [Warning, serious rant ahead]

Have you heard it? The collective groan of people sick and tired of author’s constantly promoting themselves in places where they’re not supposed to.

No one likes spam (unless you like the meat, and I’m sure there are some of you who do), and no one likes to be beaten over the head with constant book promotions on social media. Many of us have taken to hiding out in non-promotional groups or forums just to get some relief, but these aggressive authors hunt us down and invade our sacred spaces anyway. They don’t care about rules. They join and post their book links. It’s very rude.

A question for these authors, why do you do this? Don’t tell me that you didn’t KNOW it was a promotional free area, because the groups I’m in, this rule is front and center and proudly displayed in the group banner. NO PROMOTION ALLOWED. I’ve been told by a couple admins that you know what you’re doing, and don’t care. This tells me you have very little respect for rules or your fellow author, and that doesn’t look very good on you.

So, here’s what I’m going to do; I have your name. Yup, I have it and I put it on a list. Since you can’t be bothered to show respect to your fellow author, I shall not extend the courtesy to you. If you come across me on Facebook or Twitter, keep on walking. Don’t even bother to send me any kind of request, because I won’t accept. Let’s face it, you’re not looking for people to be social with, all you’re interested in is numbers so you can go around and say “Hey! Look at me! I’m important! I’m popular! Look how many followers/friends I have!”

I love promoting authors, but not authors like of you and I will not be a party to help spread your annoying spam around. If you want to promote on your blog, or Twitter or Facebook or what have you, go right ahead, those are YOUR sites, but stay out of places you’re spam is not wanted.

You brought this on yourself, I’m afraid, and you only have yourself to blame.

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

12 Responses to Writers and Prose; Don’t be a disrespectful author. [Warning, serious rant ahead]

  1. My other pet peeve is when they come on your blog or Facebook event and promote THEIR work. That’s just plain rude.

  2. This is spot on. I’ve taken to hiding posts from people that are just plain rude and obnoxious about it.

  3. I completely agree with you! These people are worse than telemarketers.

  4. Will you like my facebook page? lol Just kidding. I’ve tried having conversations with some authors and all they do is promote.

  5. I really like making friends with other authors because I genuinely want to learn more about the craft and to see how others write. I haven’t read the books of ALL of my author friends, but I intend to read at least something they have written at some point.
    I really hate the auto-reply on Twitter when you follow someone and they try to get you to buy their books. I might’ve bought them, but now I’m predisposed to hate them.

    • I dislike that too. It’s just tacky. I wished someone a happy birthday on FB and they said it would be a happier birthday if I bought one of their books, so I unfriended them on the spot. No thanks.

Leave a Reply

