Space Opera on the Menu! Guest Blog Post from R.S.A Garcia

Here we are, another Monday and instead of me going on about writing, I thought I would give you something more interesting to read. My good friend R.S.A Garcia has a new book out and she’s interviewing one of her characters for us!

 

Hello! I’m R.S.A. Garcia, and my good friend Darke has asked me to tell you a little about my book, LEX TALIONIS, a new space opera that’s out now. So I thought it would be more fun coming from the mouth of one of the book’s important characters.

Take it away, Oux!

 

1. Who are you?

When humans say this, they usually mean, what is your name. I am called Oux, but that is not my name. It is my function. It means, ‘vessel’. I have no name. I am too young yet.

 

2. Where are you from?

I have do not have a home, as you would understand it. I have a point of origin. But it is a place far from the known galaxy and I do not know its name.

 

3. So you don’t know where you were born? Who your people are?

I was not born. I was given life by my creator. I am the only one of my kind.

I have no people of my own except the human I protect.

 

4. It is strange you say you are one of a kind. You look like a little green skeleton. You mean you’re not a little green man from Mars *wink*

A joke! I love jokes. No, I am not from Mars. And I am not a man. I was given this form so that the girl I am charged with protecting would not find me too strange. Humans connect easier with humanoid life-forms.

 

5. So who was your creator?

That I cannot say, even to those I protect. It is forbidden.

 

6. What about the girl you protect? Who is she?

She calls herself Lex, but it is not her name. She has forgotten who she is. I will help her remember. Before those who hunt her can find her and do her harm, once again.

 

7. Why do you protect her? Is this your function too?

It is my purpose. Not the only one, but the most important. I was created to protect Lex. But I also protect her because I care for her. She is part of me, and I am part of her.

 

8. Wait–you said you’re not human. How can you and this girl be one?

We became one when I brought her back. I am a healer, but she died before I could use my healing powers. So I shared my essence with her, and returned her to the world of the living.

 

9. You’re saying you can raise the dead?

A little, yes. If I am in time. The long-dead are beyond my reach. The newly dead–well, that is another matter.

 

10. It sounds like you risked a lot to bring this girl back. Why is she so important?

She is no ordinary girl. She is of a special bloodline. One my creator has watched over for a long time.  I will help her remember her past so that she can do her part to save humanity’s future.

 

11. Humanity? She’s that important?

Yes. Lex’s bloodline will either save you all–or doom you. And every living creature in the known galaxies as well.

 

 

COVER (2)LEX TALIONIS, a science fiction mystery, is out in paperback now on Amazon and Barnes and Noble. Kindle edition will be released on May 30th. All other formats can be downloaded now from Dragonwell Publishing’s website here: http://publishing.dragonwell.org.

 

About the Author:

 

R.S.A. Garcia lives and works on the island of Trinidad in the Caribbean with a large family and too many dogs.

She decided to be an author when she discovered that Louisa May Alcott had been published at the age of 8. Determined to waste no more time, she finished her first collection of stories at 10. She has not stopped writing since, and indulged herself in a deep love of all speculative fiction despite the best advice of every English teacher she has ever had.

 

Her debut novel, LEX TALIONIS, a science fiction mystery, is out now and has received a starred review from Publisher’s Weekly and advanced praise from award-winning author, Elizabeth Bear.

 

You can find out more about the author at her website: http://rsagarcia.com./

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

5 Responses to Space Opera on the Menu! Guest Blog Post from R.S.A Garcia

  1. Pingback: LEX TALIONIS – Today I Interviewed One of My Characters! | R.S.A.Garcia

  2. Wow – chill-worthy interview! I can’t wait to read it!

  3. Kate says:

    Awesome interview! I just finished Lex Talionis & it was excellent.

Leave a Reply

