Writing Update for May 30, 2014

Book Five: The Prophecies of Mortals:

As we speak, my beta is looking over it right now. I had hoped to have it ready by mid-June, but there’s been a slight hold up. Nothing I can’t fix, but it’s just another pain at this point. I think I’m going to stop giving release dates for my books and just announce when it’s up and post links. Less pressure that way.

Book Six: Awaken the Herald

First chapter of this is written, and the second is looking good. I’d like to get the first draft done by the end of the summer, at least, that’s my goal. Summer always has a way of messing with my plans.

Companion Novels: The Saints of Belvedere Road, Crypt of Souls

The Saints of Belvedere Road – This book is a bugger. Nothing to do with the story itself, but rather the punctuation around the dialogue. For some odd reason, it’s different from anything I have in any of my other books, so I have to replace all of them. Ugh. I’m also cleaning up the format as I go; getting rid of extra spaces, tab indents, making sure there are the proper amount of spaces between the lines, etc. Makes things so much easier when I go to upload the file. I think this is the reason I don’t have any problems with the Smashwords ‘meatgrinder’.

 

Crypt of Souls – Okay, for now, this is the title. Knowing me, it will change. This is the second side novel and once you read PROPHICES OF MORTALS, you will know who’s in it and what it’s about. I’m just on the first chapter and doing something I don’t normally do; winging it. Well, as much as I can. I have a rough outline of where the story is to go, but just letting the characters dictate, is interesting.

 

Slaughter Rules

Have I told you about this? This is my zombie story. It follows a group of people who cross the border into the States looking for survivors of the zombie outbreak and…well…run into some scary individuals. That’s all I’m going to say.

 

Scripts:

Two new things on this. First, I’ve take my paranormal flash story and put it in script form. I want to enter it into the Canadian Short Screenplay Competition. I’m not sure what to expect from this, but I thought it would be fun.

Second, I’m working on the pilot episode of a paranormal show based in Kingston. It’s a combination of Ghost Whisperer meets The Dead Files, with a bit of Paranormal Activity thrown in for good measure. Again, I’m not sure where this will lead, but it’s fun writing it.

 

NEW PROJECT ALERT!!!

Guess who’s writing a pirate book! It’s not a romance, just a somewhat honest depiction of life in Port Royal during the 17th century. There’s a strong paranormal element (naturally, it’s one of my books), and I’m lining the plot up with actual events and situations that occurred in the port. I haven’t started writing it yet, still working on the outline, but so far it’s about ten chapters, but I’d like it to be closer to twelve. Also, this might be a three book series. So much happened in the forty years of Port Royal’s existence. I’d have to break it down to the beginning, middle and end.

 

How is you writing coming along? Anything new to report? What are your writing goals for the summer?

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

Leave a Reply

