Writing Update for June, 27, 2014

ANNOUCEMENT!

Starting today, for the summer I’m limiting updates to once a month. With the nicer weather here things tend to go very, very slowly and there’s not much to update every two weeks.

 

BIG ANNOUCEMENT!

Some of you may already know, last year I was asked to sub a short story to Twisted Core Press’s short story imprint 7DS for an anthology.  The anthology entitled SLAYERS will now be out July 7th! My contribution is called FREEDOM, and I’m really excited because I got the chance to revamp an old story that never went anywhere.

I’m also honoured and humbled by the other wonderful and talented writers who also contributed to the anthology. I was lucky enough to read a couple of the other stories, and let me tell you, they are stories that will stay with you. I’m hoping mine will be one of those too.

 

Book Five: The Prophecies of Mortals:

I got the manuscript back and I worked on the edits she pointed out. I love her opening statement in her email; ‘You know, it was actually hard to find places to comment. Or to ask for more or less. The story paced well, the characters all had their part.

Wow, that made me feel really good. With there being so much going on, I was afraid I’d lose her. I think I did in some places, but I’m working to fix that.

 

Book Six: Awaken the Herald

I’ve written a few thousand on this, but my primary focus has been on the above book. That, and the companion novel.  I’d like to get both out relatively close together but I don’t think that’s going to be possible. Well, at least the companion will be out before Christmas. 😀

 

Companion Novels: The Saints of Belvedere Road, Crypt of Souls

The Saints of Belvedere Road – As I stated above, this book is high on my cue list. I’m about half way through with the last round of edits, and after I get my cover art done for Mortals, I’ll start saving up for line edits.

Crypt of Souls –

This is turning into an interesting story. I’m not even done with the first chapter and already I see so many possible plot threads. When I first thought of this second novel, I wasn’t sure if I would write it or not but now, I think it’s pretty good.

 

Slaughter Rules

Ah, my zombie story. I like this story. I’d like to have it and the two others WIPs done by the end of summer. Well, at least have this one done by the end of fall.

 

The Carriers

Yes, I’ve been poking at this one too. I’ve added a good 3k to the original story and I’d like to have about twelve of these ready by the beginning of next year and put one out once a month. Well, that’s a plan.

 

My WIP list keeps getting longer and longer. I also been looking over a couple stand-alone novels that I’d trunked (put on a flash drive and forgot). With all the publishing options out there, I just might be able to put these out too. I’m also going to do a WIP update once a month. With summer here things tend to go very, very slowly and there’s not much to update every two weeks.

 

So how is your writing coming along?

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

2 Responses to Writing Update for June, 27, 2014

  1. RSAGARCIA says:

    I’d be outside too after that winter you guys had! Congratulations on the publishing achievement. ::HUGS::

Leave a Reply

