Steampunk Sunday; The Toys of Steampunk

coollogo_com-176107698When I first looked into writing a Steampunk story, I was captivated by the technology of the genre. Captivated and more than a little intimidated. The little (or big) gizmos and gadgets are an important element in the genre. Some would even say it’s what makes the story, and as creative as I like to think I am, technical stuff is not my cup of tea. It reminds me too much of math. 😛

I wrote a post some time back about this subject.

https://darkeconteur.wordpress.com/2013/06/09/how-much-steampunk-does-it-take-to-be-steampunk/

The gadgets in Steampunk are as fantastical as the worlds and clothing. They are built with cogs and gears, brass and metal, but as strange or silly they might look, the reader must believe they actually work or risk pulling their audience from the story. It doesn’t matter how big or small, or even how far-fetched, if you can make the reader believe the technology exists or could exist, then you bring so much more to your story than just another fantasy gadget.

Check out these Steampunk gizmos.

http://www.pinterest.com/marshallg/gears-gadgets-gizmos/

http://www.pinterest.com/mandersmadness/steampunkitemsgadgetsgizmos/

Your ships can navigate the ocean, the air, or even space if you choose. Your weapons can be clockwork  and shoot bullets, or house a chamber inside that creates deadly rays. You’re only limited by your imagination, so let your creativity soar and see where it takes you.

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

2 Responses to Steampunk Sunday; The Toys of Steampunk

  1. DRC says:

    This is one of the reasons why I don’t write Steampunk or even Sci-fi. As much as I love it I don’t have the technical know-how to pull it off. Even if I did my homework and researched it all you need confidence to make your audience believe you know what you’re talking about…

    As for Steampunk, great genre though…

    • I agree, and I think that’s why I’ve put my Steampunk on the back burner for now. I know one day I’ll get to them, but I think I need to have a better understanding first.

Leave a Reply

