State of the Garden: August 1, 2014

I just wanted to post some pictures of how the veggie garden is coming. I’m not sure how I did it, but the whole thing exploded. So much so, we’re thinking of extending it another four feet next year. Click on the picture for a closer look.

IMG_20140801_123833

 

 

 

 

 

 

My biggest surprise was the zucchini and cabbage. Had I thought they would get to be so big, I would have made other plans. I’m not sure when to harvest either the cabbage or the Brussels sprouts, and I’ve harvested several large zucchini already and a few onions.

IMG_20140801_123956

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’ve never seen tomatoes grow like this before.

IMG_20140801_123926

 

 

 

 

 

 

And this is how Brussels sprouts grow.

IMG_20140801_124014

 

 

 

 

 

 

My herbs runneth over….

IMG_20140801_124050

 

 

 

 

 

 

And the barrels are producing fruit, once Sitboy stopped mowing over the vines…

IMG_20140724_193933

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_20140724_194007 IMG_20140724_194044

 

 

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

5 Responses to State of the Garden: August 1, 2014

  1. That is amazing to me. I currently have two indoor potted aloe vera plants someone gave me, because when I leave them outside, they turn brown and start to die. We just moved up here and we don’t have a lawn (apartment) but I’d love to start planting in pots. Seeing that you got yours to explode so beautifully gives me hope. 😉

  2. You did awesome this year!! Way better than me.

    Let me know how your Brussel sprouts taste. You might be okay where you live, but down here the terrible heat makes them bitter. I can only plant them in the fall.

    • You know, we were JUST thinking about that last night. I went online and I’m still not sure if it’s ready or not. We’ve had mostly cool nights around here, and it hasn’t been as hot as usual. Might try some this weekend just to see.

Leave a Reply

