Scents of the season: Summer

Scents are wonderful things. They’re connected with our memories and just a quick whiff of something familiar will bring back a flood of recollections. How many times were you taken away by a smell that brought you back a wonderful time in your life? When I was a kid, summer was the best time of the year. I think it had a lot to do with school being out for two months, but there were other things that I looked forward to as well. Summer brought with it smells that were distinctly its own. Mowed grass, the air after it rained, and the mouth-watering aroma of a barbeque, just to name a few.

Over the summer I asked people on Facebook and Twitter what scents/smells reminded them of summer. Here is a list from those who replied.

 

  • fireworks,
  • mowed grass
  • hay,
  • lilacs,
  • sunscreen,
  • chlorine
  • barbeque,
  • bugs pray,
  • the way the air smells before it rains
  • watermelons

 

Here are a few scents that remind me of summer:

 

  • the way the air smells in the morning
  • lake water
  • bug spray
  • coconut (I think all suntan lotion in the 70’s smelled like coconut)
  • petunias
  • skunk spray

 

What about you? Did this list remind you of your summers? Do you have a scent/smell that wasn’t listed above? Different countries have different smells and I’d love to learn what scents remind overseas readers of summer

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

2 Responses to Scents of the season: Summer

  1. I don’t think I saw your original post, but this is cool. I’m more of an autumn person, with LOTS of smells reminding me of that season. Still, summer has its moments. Ozone is a big one for me since I grew up where summer monsoons are the norm. Barbeques and pool water. Also beer – I tend to drink it more in summer.

Leave a Reply

