Writing Update for September, 19, 2014

writingSummer is almost at an end. Yes, I know the un-official end to summer was Labour Day weekend, but the real end will be this coming Monday evening, at 10:29pm. Enjoy the last weekend of summer.

 

Book Five: The Prophecies of Mortals:

Almost here! Just waiting on cover art and finishing up a proof read. I know it’s taken longer than the other books, and I do apologize, but there have been some unforeseen mishaps, which I really don’t want to get into.  One good thing, I am setting the release date for October 31. That will give me enough time to get through the meat grinder and other channels. I will be doing a cover release before then, but if you can’t wait, you can sign up for my newsletter.

 

Book Six: Awaken the Herald

Poking along at this. I’ve decided not to write a second companion novel focusing on Daniel and his promise to the werewolf spirit. Instead, I’ll just include his trip in this book. It will probably add more to the manuscript, but as it stands, there’s not a lot to this story. I say that now, but I only have the outline done, and even that is somewhat sparse. I know things will change once I focus on it. This also means, after SAINTS, there will be three books left in the series; 6, 7 and 8. I’m not quite sure how I feel about this.

 

Companion Novels: The Saints of Belvedere Road

I have one more chapter to revise and then I’ll put it away until after the holidays. I still think it needs a bit more of a connection to the series, but right now, with all the other things going on, I need to just let it rest.

 

Second Project Novel: Plague Series

I said I wouldn’t do it, but I did. I turned my supposed-to-be-stand-alone-zombie novel into three. I realized there was a story before SLAUGHTER RULES, and a story after, and I couldn’t keep writing SLAUGHTER as a second novel without writing the first. It’s just the three. I’ve started the first one, called SURVIVAL RULES, and have an outline for the third. I’m hoping to get the first draft of the first book done by the end of October.

 

Short Story Anthologies

I haven’t mentioned much about these projects lately, as I haven’t really been working on them, but I’ve been putting aside some time to work a little bit on two. The first one is an erotic short story anthology; a continuing saga of sorts for the character of my first erotic short story, Brie. The anthology is called THE EROTIC AWAKENING OF BRIE, and so far I have two stories written; Brie’s Night Out (formerly Date Night, which I got back from Oysters and Chocolate when they closed), and Brie au Naturél. A third short, Peek-a-Brie, is outlined. I’m not sure how many stories it will be, so there’s no deadline for this one.

The second anthology is a horror one. Although, I’m not even sure what horror is anymore. I have one finished, and four more outlined. There’s no deadline for this project either.

 

So how is your writing coming along?

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

Leave a Reply

