State of the Garden; September 25, 2014 [with pictures]

The season is over. Done. Dying. Dead.

Tomato plants

Tomato plants

We had a good year, growing wise. Everything grew like mad. The tomato plants were a good five feet tall (I kid you not), and the cabbage, zucchini and the vine plants were robust. Everything had lots of flowers (minus the vine ones as Sithboy ran them over with the lawnmower) but it wasn’t until the end of August that things ripened, and then all at once.

 

Veggie Garden Breakdown

Tomatoes

Cherry tomatoes

Cherry tomatoes

Cherry tomatoes: They grew and grew and grew, produced a pile of fruit, but only a few ripened. We won’t be doing those again. Sad. I loved the way they grew on the plant. Very uniform.

Beefsteak: These were the best ones. The majority of our tomatoes came from this plant. They were huge and I had no black rot on the bottom as I kept up with the watering. I made wonderful tomato paste with these tomatoes. Yum. Tomato soup didn’t turn out though.

 

Peppers

Green peppers: Had about four this year. Not bad but the plant wasn’t as big as normal. First year we did green peppers the plants were about two feet talk with a sturdy woody stalk. Got a pile from those.

Jalapenos: Planted two of these. Got a little over a half dozen out of the two plants. Husband said they were nice. I don’t care for them.

Habanero Red Hot Peppers

Habanero Red Hot Peppers

Habanero Hot Peppers: Holy crap. A PILE of them, and Husband won’t eat them because they’re too hot for him. I’m giving them to my FIL. Hopefully they won’t kill him.

 

Brussel Sprouts: We had two plants and while they did good, I wouldn’t let Husband eat them. I didn’t care for the look of the plant, and I love my husband too much to give him strange looking food. I don’t think we’re going to grow this again. If he wants Brussel sprouts, he can buy them.

 

Cabbage: Planted four, got two. One was completely eaten by something, and the fourth was small and we didn’t bother. Made cabbage rolls and salad with the other two.

 

Cucumber: One plant. Got about three. This one was strange. It started growing up the trellis we had for beans, but never really did anything. I put some fertilizer on it with the rest and that seemed to kill it. Maybe next year.

 

Beans: Yeah, no. Something, and I suspect it was the damn chipmunks in the shed, ate the sprouts. They didn’t stand a chance.

 

Vines

Squash: Planted two, but only the butternut made it. The other ended up with a powdery mildew and died. The butternut produced three fruit, all no bigger than my hand.

 

Pumpkin

Pumpkin

Melons: Nope. They were doing well, and then the powdery mildew got them. That was after Sithboy ran them over with the lawn mower.

 

Pumpkin: We got one pumpkin, but we’re not sure if it’s an orange one or a white one. Damn thing is half-and-half.

 

Herbs:

IMG_20140925_101323

Mint

Mint: Holy garden take over. I’m going to leave it where it is, maybe put some kind of barrier under the ground to keep in in check (is that possible?). I love the colour it turns in autumn.

 

Chives:

Bought two kinds of chives; regular and garlic. Garlic didn’t grow well, but the others were great. I used them in just about every egg recipe I did.

 

Rosemary: It did very well, considering it was buried under mint for most of the season. IMG_20140925_101333

Basil: I now know how to grow basil. Next year I can start early in shaping it.

Thyme: We have two kinds, one is regular thyme in the garden, the other is creeping thyme in the lawn. Smells really nice when you mow in that area. They do well too. Very hardy

Oregano: Another hardy plant this year. Mind you, it’s a perennial but I’m not sure if it’ll live through our winters.

Our garden area is small, and since I’ve found herbs, I’d like to expand and grow more. I just might turn that area into a large herb garden and add more (I want to grow garlic and ginger), and then start a new garden area in a spot where the sun is almost constant.

 

How was your garden season?

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

2 Responses to State of the Garden; September 25, 2014 [with pictures]

  1. You did great! I love brussels sprouts but it’s just too hot here. It needs a long growing season in an area that doesn’t resemble a crematorium. I should’ve planted them this fall but I ran out of room. I dedicated two big beds to turnips for the goats and chickens.

    Basil is like a weed. You can snip a piece of one and stick in the ground and it’ll sprout new roots.

    Re: habaneros
    I made that mistake once. 🙂 Never again. Peppers grow real well down here. I try to do at least one new variety every year.

Leave a Reply

