Of Writers and Prose: Gearing up for NaNoWriMo

Quill-InkIt’s that time of year, folks. Time to buckle down and do a frenzy of daily words that is the insanity of NaNoWriMo. If you’ve never heard of it, go Google it, but every writer knows what it is and you either dread or love it.

First time I did NaNo was back in 2009. I’d heard of it and decided to pass as I didn’t have an idea. Well, there I was, three days before NaNo was to start and I was working out and listening to some music. It hit me. An idea. It was just a few scattered elements and at the time, I had no idea how to put them together, so I wrote them down and went from there.

Who?

What?

Where?

When?

Why?

How?

Slowly, as I filled in each question, a story emerged. When November 1st rolled around, I was ready (somewhat) and I began writing. I calculated how many words a day I would have to write in order to make the goal (roughly 1,700), and as the days passed, my story took shape. It was nothing great and there were plot holes and parts that went way off the outline, but it was something. Most importantly, it was 50 thousand words I didn’t have at the beginning of the month.

This is the main goal of NaNoWriMo; to write a novel length story in thirty days. There are so many people out there who want to write a novel, and this contest allows them to express that desire. It’s a feeling of accomplishment. Completing a novel is the hardest thing, especially for those who have never written a long piece before.

So, this Saturday I am jumping into the fray with hundreds of thousands of other writers. I will weave words into sentences, into paragraphs and chapters. I will (hopefully) come out the other side with a brand spankin’ new story.

What about you? Are you doing NaNoWriMo this year?

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

8 Responses to Of Writers and Prose: Gearing up for NaNoWriMo

  1. Sessha Batto says:

    I kind of do NaNo every year. In 2008 I jumped in with no clue because I wanted to see if I could do it. This year, though, I’m just using it as impetus to finish my WIP 😉

  2. DRC says:

    I’ve never actually taken part in Nano. I usually use the hype to push forward on my own work. HOWEVER…I am currently toying with a new idea – something different to my main projects – and now you’ve reminded me of nano. I think I might head over and see what the crack is 🙂

Leave a Reply

