The Knitting Project: Socks on Fox! Or cougar…as my husband likes to call me…

With the garden done for the year (well, there are still some herbs going and those damn habanero peppers JUST WON’T DIE), it’s time for me to look at knitting up something for the winter. My first project is going to be socks. I’ve never knitted them before and the way my feet get cold, I think I could use them. Here’s my problem…I don’t know which pair to knit up. At first, I thought doing a simple pair because it’s my first try, but as I went through the other patterns, some of the more advanced ones really caught my eye.

kimsock

Now, the idea of knitting on four needles, well, I can do it, it just is not the calming project I like for my knitting, but I think I’ll have to break down and knit on four. The majority of patters call for this, and if I want to make them, I’ll have to get used to it. I don’t mind knitting on four needles. I just have to remember to pay close attention when I’m knitting the first few rows. It’s too easy to get it twisted.

If you like knitting socks, here is a link to a page I found with a wide selection of sock patters.

http://www.knittingonthenet.com/socks.htm

Do you knit? Have you knitted socks before? What do you think of knitting on four or even three needles?

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

2 Responses to The Knitting Project: Socks on Fox! Or cougar…as my husband likes to call me…

  1. Funny how writers all seem to have the same loves: cats, gardens, knitting and writing of course. I started crocheting stuff, so far I did a set of hats, fingerless gloves and neck warmers for the terrible threesome, one set for one of their friends (birthday gift) a little hat and booties for a friend’s baby and baby blanket+hat+booties set for another friend who just had a baby girl. I have been thinking of socks for myself too, my feet freeze in winter! But I applaud you for going with the four needles, I only want to deal with one crochet hook. Post pics of your project, we’d love to see it 🙂

    • I would LOVE to know how to crochet. I can’t do it and I’ve found some beautiful patterns for all sorts of things. I did four needles for a pair of fingerless gloves a few years back, and the trick is to really, really, REALLY keep an eye on the yarn and make sure it doesn’t twist around the needle.

      Oh yes, I will be posting pics as I go. 🙂

Leave a Reply

