Of Writers and Prose: Reaching the daily NaNoWriMo word goal.

crest-bda7b7a6e1b57bb9fb8ce9772b8faafbWe are just over one week into National Novel Writing Month, how are you doing? If you’re an old hat at this, you’re probably whipping off the required 1,700 or more daily word goals like a pro, but for the newcomer or casual writer that can be a little more difficult.

Don’t beat yourself up. That’s a lot of words. It can be challenge to stretch a scene out, but I have a trick I use—dialogue. It’s great for exploring the relationships between characters or exposing some hidden plot twist. It doesn’t matter if the conversation wanders a bit. Remember, NaNo is about getting the FIRST draft written. No edits, no revisions, just sitting down and writing. If you’re an outliner (like myself) it’s okay to stray off the jotted path and explore. You never know when a plot bunny or intriguing scene might suddenly appear. Organic (pantsers) know what I’m talking about. That freedom to just let your fingers do the typing and see where it takes you. NaNo is really the only time I ever let my fingers do the walking, so to speak.

Kind of like what I’m doing with this post. 😛

Basically what it comes down to, is that it doesn’t matter how you get the words down, just as long as you get them down. Remember, turn off that inner editor and just have fun with it. As for me, I’m pushing along. My idea of reaching a 3k daily goal was sidetracked almost from the beginning when I did something to my back. I can’t sit for long periods of time and I had to give up the comfortable place sit in to write, but stretches seem to be working so I’m hoping to get back to some kind of high word count this week.

So tell me, how are you doing keeping up with your daily NaNo word count? Any tips to stay on track?

NaNoWriMo Goal: – 90,000

Total words so far: – 13,578

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

2 Responses to Of Writers and Prose: Reaching the daily NaNoWriMo word goal.

  1. DRC says:

    lol. My post today was a Nano update 🙂 I’m failing. Just over 5K but I’m determined to catch up. Life just kinda gets in the way 🙂

Leave a Reply

