Of Writers and Prose: In the Final NaNoWriMo Stretch!

crest-bda7b7a6e1b57bb9fb8ce9772b8faafbCan you smell it? It’s in the air. A mixture of excitement and desperation as the final days of National Novel Writing Month quickly comes to a close. I’ve had a couple friends already cross the 50k finishing line. One in particular, finished the first draft of a novel after not being able to write for close to two years! I’m so proud of her! It’s a big accomplishment no matter what level of writing you’re at.

According to the NaNoWriMo site, at this point we should be well around 35k; a little over half way. It’s also around this point that one realizes whether or not they can continue with the story. I know what you’re going to say, but I followed a few NaNo threads on Twitter and there were many writers who were scrambling to put something together even a few days before it started. This doesn’t bode well for the writer or the story.

We’ve all been there; the story we think is TOTALLY AWESOME, suddenly becomes a beast of burden a few chapters in. For most of us, we just close the file and wait for a time when the story becomes relevant to us again, but you can’t do that with a NaNoWriMo novel. You work on one story, and one story only. Realizing at this point that it’s not going anywhere is heartbreaking and discouraging, but a good lesson as well. Chalk it up to a life lesson and tuck it away.

This is also a good way to realize whether or not you really have the discipline to be a writer. There are a lot of people out there who talk about writing, but when it comes down to it, they do more talking that writing. Writing takes discipline. I know writers who work all day, come home and look after their family, and still manage to spend a few hours at night or in the morning, working on their story. You must dedicate some time to your craft and NaNoWriMo sorts out the writers from the wannabe’s. Even if you can only write five hundred words a day, or even less than that, if you do it every day, you might not have a novel length story, but you’ll have something even more important; the discipline you need to write that novel length story.

In the end, that is the most important part of National Novel Writing Month.

As for my novel, I’m still plugging away. I had a medical situation a few weeks back that almost scrubbed by effort, but things are looking better and now I’m in a mad rush to finish. Here’s to the final seven day!

NOW GO WRITE! YOU’VE GOT THIS!

Note to new participants; PLEASE DO NOT SEND YOUR NOVEL TO AGENTS COME DECEMBER! (More on that in the next post)

 

 

NaNoWriMo Goal – 50,000

Total words so far – 25,753

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

4 Responses to Of Writers and Prose: In the Final NaNoWriMo Stretch!

  1. Isn’t it funny to hear of people sending their manuscripts to agents right off the bat? Most people are so connected that we know better, but sometimes I forget there are total newbies out there who don’t yet know the ropes.

    I hope your medical crisis is behind you. That’s no fun no matter what’s going on.

    • People think agents close down in December for the holidays, it’s really because they don’t want the their inboxes flooded with NaNo novels. πŸ˜›

      Yeah, damn back put me out of the game for almost two weeks. I’ve sat in the same spot on the couch for so long that the springs are almost gone. I still sit with a pillow behind me, just to give my lower back that added support.

      Oh, and I will send that letter off to you sometime this week! My mom saw the card and she loved it. Said the red really got her attention.

  2. DRC says:

    Ah jeez. You can never foresee the things that ruin even the best writing plans. I had a car accident last Monday and it run my creativity dry. I hardly wrote a thing. Nano may just be a fail because of that. I’m at 17.5k. Still behind but last week it could have been salvageable. Not so much now. I’m still gonna finish the thing though – maybe just not by the end of the month 😐

    Still, I hope your back improves. Keep on plugging away πŸ™‚

    • OMG! That’s horrible! I hope you weren’t’ hurt really bad. Omg…that’s so scary! I’m impressed that you’re still working on it again so soon.

      I’m beginning to wonder if I’ll make it too, and I’ll probably keep going if I don’t get it done. Just to get it out of my head.

      Take care! I hope things get better. πŸ™‚ *hugs*

Leave a Reply

