Writing Update for November 28, 2014. NaNoWriMo Edition

writingThe insanity is almost over.

This has been a very interesting month for me, writing wise. Forcing myself to focus on a new project and getting it done within the allotted time has pushed my ability to write even further. The first NaNoWriMo competition I did, back in 2009,  showed me that I could write over 1500 words per day and allowed me to finish a novel for the first time in years. That was a major accomplishment all by itself.

This time, I pushed myself further. Starting with a goal of 3k per day, I was doing great, then my back problems happened and I had to stop. For two weeks, I couldn’t sit for longer than an hour, and even then, I was in some serious pain. Writing was out of the question. I’d decided that maybe this wasn’t going to be a NaNo year, but after following the physiotherapists instructions, I slowly got back to it and at the beginning of this week, I went on a writing frenzy, managing 5k per day from Monday to Wednesday. I’m now sitting at close to 45k.

I’ve learned something else this time around too. Like the last NaNoWriMo, I pushed myself and made the high word count accessible. I’m hoping I can keep it up and work on my other novels with the same kind of fervor. I know the 5k might not be duplicated; there were special conditions for that, but a 3k-4k day is acceptable. I could get so many books done if I did those daily word counts.

 

Did you do the National Novel Writing Month challenge? How did you do?

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

Leave a Reply

