A Personal Observation: Beating the Holiday Blues

I love this time of year. I try to look past all the moaning and groaning and focus on the spirit of the season. That doesn’t mean I don’t get grumpy from time to time. Seeing all the commercials and ads pushing merchandise gets on my nerves after a while. Especially when they start right after Hallowe’en.  Needless to say, a part of me was a little giddy when I heard that Black Friday and Cyber Monday was a little less popular here this year.

None-the-less…I do get grumpy, but there’s a few things I look forward to every year that help pull me out of my bah humbug. One of them is holiday decorating. I love the coloured lights and ornaments; garland and tinsel. We used to go nuts and have stuff hanging from the ceiling and along the walls. It would be a weekend event full of holiday music, treats and fun. Extra points for us if it was snowing. Mostly we did it for Sithboy. To bring the spirit and magic of the season to him. There’s something special about having a room decorated that makes even the worse of days just a little bit better.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The last few years we haven’t gone quite so crazy. Sithboy is older and some of the decorations we had for years were ruined or too old to see another season. Husband works more on the weekend now and that put a stop to decorating being a family affair. I let the grumpiness of others creep into my life more than it should have, and a couple years back we lost my husband’s grandmother. That always puts a damper on things.

This year won’t be much in the way of decorating either. We’re fixing up rooms and have junk all over the place. Things are cluttered as it is, and putting up decorations would only make it feel even more so. That’s okay, there’s always next year. I can look at the other people’s light, I’ll be happy.

Downtown Napanee

Downtown Napanee

What about you? Do you decorate like mad? Or think minimal is best?

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

4 Responses to A Personal Observation: Beating the Holiday Blues

  1. I love to decorate, but Himself is not so crazy about it. Usually, he’s great about getting everything down from their high perch in the garage, but this year, I don’t know. His dad just died and he’s up to his ears in estate matters, plus we’re spending time out of town to clean out the empty house. Don’t know if I should bother Himself with decorations.

    • You know him best. I would ask if he’s in the mood this year. You never know, decorating might just be the thing to push aside the sadness, even if it’s just for a few hours. *hugs*.

  2. Greg loves a decorated house more than I do, but this year we made a concerted effort to decorate (together) to lift our spirits. It’s helped a lot.

Leave a Reply

