T’was a week before Christmas: A poem inspired by real events.

I wrote this a few years back after Husband and I had a whirlwind holiday. Like this year, he was working right up until Christmas and we found that time was running out.

~~~~~~

T’was a week before Christmas

And all through the house,

The cats were both hunting,

In search of a mouse
No stockings were hung,

But we did have a tree

With energy efficient lights,

So small, you can’t see.
And I, with a bad haircut

Husband with a cold,

Were just settling down

To watch a holiday show
When a commercial came on

Peddle this thing and that,

I realized we had no gifts bought,

Not even a festive hat
So I reached over and poked

My partner in crime,

“What are we going to do about Christmas,

We don’t have even a dime!”
“Don’t worry,” he mumbled,

“By this weekend I’ll have money,

We’ll do it all in one shot,

How’s that for a plan, Hunny? ”

 

I shook my head,

As I clenched tight my fist,

“Are you telling me,

We’re doing all our shopping

five days before Christmas!”
“We’ll start a new tradition.”

He smiled, with a wink

Do it all in one shot

So what do you think?”

 

So five days before Christmas

The hearth’s just a-glowing,

Holiday shoppers on the roads,

And the snow’s just a’blowing
First Wal-Mart, then Zellers,

Food Basics, and Shoppers,

Next Chapters, and Starbucks,

E.B Games, for the toppers.
Art supplies, gift cards,

Slippers and more,

There are moments when I can’t

Wait to get out of the store.
Kids screaming and yelling,

Shopping carts blocking the aisle

Grabbing this thing and that,

The frenzy goes on for awhile
Then finally it’s done,

No more shopping is needed,

We’ve done it all in one day

I can’t believe we succeeded!
With our gifts in the trunk

It’s home, we do go

Leaving the big city behind,

Before all the snow

 

Christmas Eve quickly comes

Our excitement is growing,

Relaxing for the night

And the alcohol’s just flowing

 

Soon bedtime does call

But who’s gonna sleep,

Not me, because suddenly,

I do hear a peep.

 

“Something’s moving around downstairs!”

Comes a voice through our door,

“It’s just the cats,” I yell back,

“Scampering around on the floor.”

 

“Are you sure?” the voice questions,

“It could be Santa Clause!”

“Not likely,” I mumble

“Now go back to bed!”

 

The rays of light, peek between curtains

As footsteps hurry down the stairs

Someone’s up far too early,

But I really don’t care.

 

“Too damn early” my partner whines

“I wish he’d stay in bed,”

Oh, aren’t you Mr. Grumpy,” I tease

And throw my pillow at his head

 

Christmas music is going,

presents scattered on the floor

But not a damn thing gets opened

Until the coffee’s been poured.

 

The Yule log is glowing,

in the woodstove, and on t.v

Pretty paper torn to shreds

Spread as far as I can see

 

With family and friend gathered close,

Keep the day in good cheer

Wishing you all Merry Christmas

And a Happy New Year!

 

 

 

 

 

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

3 Responses to T’was a week before Christmas: A poem inspired by real events.

  1. So cute!

    Someday, Sithboy will be Sithman and you’ll be the ones waiting for him to show up at your door. Enjoy the scampering while you can.

    Merry Christmas, sweetie!

Leave a Reply

