Of Writers and Prose: Writing Through the Holidays

Quill-InkThis is something that I’ve never been able to do. Aside from blog posts, I can’t write. I can’t find the motivation to work on my WIPs no matter how many times I say to myself that I should. There’s too much going on this time of year as well. Too many things to do and it’s a major distraction for me. Presents must be wrapped, decorations hung, food to be prepared, and you’re telling me I have to write too?

Yeah, not going to happen.

If you can write during this time of year, go for it, but I’m not going to put more stress on myself. There’s enough anxiety this time of year that I don’t need to be adding to it. Doesn’t mean I’m not serious, it just means I know and acknowledge my limitations. I’m not superwoman. Not even close. I admire those who can write 365 days of the year. That’s some discipline. It’s impressive too, but it’s not me. Just like some people can write a high word count every day and some people can’t. Understanding your limits in writing is just as important as finding your author voice. It’s a part of your creative side, and understanding what you can and can’t do, will help you become more productive in the long run.

This year is a double whammy for me. I feel totally drained after accomplishing NaNoWriMo last month, and this is a good a time as any to take a break and recharge my creative energy. The new year is right around the corner and it holds a wealth of possibilities, not to mention the three or four WIPs I have to finish.

This will be my last post until Sunday, so I want to wish you all a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year. Be well, and safe.

What about you? Do you write through the holidays?

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

4 Responses to Of Writers and Prose: Writing Through the Holidays

  1. DRC says:

    I haven’t really for a few weeks now. But this time of year is normally pretty busy so leaves no time for writing. You’re not alone 🙂

    Have a wonderful Christmas and New Year 🙂 x

  2. Writing? What’s that?

    Merry Christmas and Happy New Year back to you!

Leave a Reply

