Of Writers and Prose: My writing goals and predictions for 2015.

Quill-InkI still can’t believe 2014 is over. I had some great expectations on myself last year, the biggest being my ability to get two books out. That fell flat. I’m not upset about it. I learned a lot about myself and what I can and can’t do, and I don’t see that as a failure at all.

This year I’m going to be just as optimistic.

My goals for 2015 are broken into two categories; writing and personal.

Writing Goals:

– to make time for my writing every day

– to get at least 500 words written every day

– to put out at least two more books.

– to blog on a more consistent basis

Personal Goals:

-to exercise at least three times a week

-to lose 35 pounds

-to eat healthier.

These goals to me are doable not because I have to push myself to do it, but because they are obtainable. That’s my biggest problem. I am SUCH a procrastinator. Maybe that should be my main goal for 2014, to stop procrastinating.

And…since everyone is doing predictions for the publishing world for 2015, here are mine.

  1. Amazon will become the ‘novella’ place. Because of their subscription service and the new VAT, authors will break apart their books and publish them chapter by chapter.
  2. Many self-published authors will become hybrid authors. Either with small press or one of the Trad publishers, as the stigma of self-publishing books being crap returns. Due in part to multitude of authors who put up unedited and poorly written stories.
  3. Once people realize the cash-cow that was self-publishing is over, many authors will simple drop out. Why bother to put money into something that doesn’t give you a high return? This will lead the feeling that publishing is not a get rich quick scheme and perhaps, the art will return.
  4. 2015 will be the year authors finally understand social media. No more annoying spam of BUY MY BOOK, READ MY BLOG, instead, they will find new and interesting way to promote themselves that involve interacting with readers, and WON’T make them look like used car salespeople.
  5. I’ve read a few prediction posts by other authors, and they say diversity will be the key word for 2015. I agree. Authors must think diversity when it comes to where they publish, and (and I might get some flak for this) what they write. I have a feeling writers will have to write in different genre’s in order to be sustainable. You can’t just write romance, or scifi, or erotica, writers will have to branch out and attract readers from other genres to keep their sales up. That’s good news to those of us who already do that, bad news for those who don’t. Genre-blending will rule the industry as more and more authors look to diversify and find more readers

How about you? What does your 2015 hold?

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

2 Responses to Of Writers and Prose: My writing goals and predictions for 2015.

  1. Diversification has always been a good plan regardless of the business. It’s also a benefit to avoiding the depression that authors so often fall into.

    Many authors have a tendency to be one trick ponies, meaning, they think, eat, and breathe writing. If that doesn’t go well, it chucks them into depression. Whereas if they were diversified, they’d have other options available to keep them buoyed until their writing career gets better.

    • There’s an article out, I read it yesterday, on KU and that authors should be looking for other venues other than Amazon for their books. I know there are still a lot of people who read paper books, and I plan to re-release my series in paper once it’s finished. Maybe add more content.

Leave a Reply

