Supernatural Sunday: Inspiration for the Levels of Hell in my Watchtower Series

I’ve always considered hell to be a place where nothing lives and nothing grows. Not the fire and brimstone of Christian belief, more like the place Howie Mandel’s character went to in his near death experience (when he met the rapist terrorizing St. Eligius. Remember that?) It a grey place where nothing grows, where there’s no sunlight and there is nothing and no one else around. Nothing. Just you wandering around a dead landscape for the rest of eternity.

That is my idea of hell.

When I started writing my paranormal series, I didn’t want to use that idea. The plot didn’t allow for such a dismal place. It had to be scary; a place you didn’t want to go. I came up with a new idea based on what I grew up with and had an idea of how I would depict this Hell, but nothing solid. Not until I found a site on Dante’s Inferno.dante

If you’ve never heard of it, Inferno is the first part of Dante Alighieri’s 14th-century epic poem Divine Comedy. It’s followed by Purgatorio and Paradiso. It’s a metaphoric telling of Dante’s journey through Hell, guided by the Roman poet Virgil. As I read it (or more precise, read the English translation as it’s written in Italian) and learned of the different levels, I realized it would be perfect for my series. This is also why – if you’ve read the series – you’ll know there’s a painting in the lobby of Terin Global that depicts Dante’s Inferno.

I’ve written a couple level’s into the books, as to whether or not I’ll write any more, that’s to be seen. One thing is certain, his poem has sparked my imagination and has been a great place to create in.

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

Leave a Reply

