Author interview with Mary Frame

My first interview for 2015 is with my fellow GoatPosse sis, Mary Frame. You might remember Mary from her excerpt post back in October from her first book Imperfect Chemistry. If you’d like to read it, the link can be found HERE.

So let’s begin…

 

Author Mary Frame1. Let’s get to know you a bit. Where are you from, and what genre do you write?

I was born in Monterey, California, but I’ve spent most of my life in Reno, Nevada. I’ve written in various genres, but currently my two published novels are both contemporary romance. I love romance (which my husband finds shocking because I’m not romantic AT ALL in real life), and it always plays a part in my work. I would like to write a ghost story, and have one that I am playing with, so we’ll see if I can pull it off!

 

2. With all the risks and uncertainty around publishing, what was it that drew you to a career in writing?

Well, like most writers, writing isn’t my sole source of income. I have a full time day job that pays the bills, and I write because it’s fun. I love it, and it’s a creative release for me. I wrote every day for six years before I decided to make the leap into publishing. It took me that long to produce something that I felt wasn’t super stinky.  Once I thought, “Hey, this isn’t half bad,” the only thing preventing me from putting it out in the world was my own insecurities and worries that people would judge me, hate it, hate me, or think I was totally nuts (which I am anyway). So, I figured out what I needed to do and I got it done! I’m really glad I did, too, because self-publishing is fun–even though it can be a lot of work!

 

3. Now that you have a few books under your belt, what’s your take on the whole process? What was the hardest part for you? What was the easiest?

There are so many difficult things about writing and publishing, how can I choose just one? Putting yourself out there is hard, formatting, checking, waiting, re-checking, finding a cover, all of those things are time consuming and have their own difficulties. I would have to say, though, the hardest part for me is marketing. How do you reach your target audience? I know they are out there, but it’s been pretty much trial by error for me; trying various things (running promotions, ads, giveaways, etc.), and hoping something works!

The easiest part…um. There is no easy part. At least, not for me. Writing is hard work. And it doesn’t help that I constantly second-guess myself. However, I’ve always felt that the most rewarding things in life are often the most difficult. So, maybe experiencing the rewards of writing/publishing is the easiest part. For me, the reward is when I receive a review, e-mail or tweet from someone who read my books and tell me how much they laughed. Love that.

 

4. Are you going to keep putting them out yourself, or would you try to become a hybrid author?

At this point, I have no desire or reason to try and find an agent and/or publisher. I’m pretty happy with making my own decisions, and putting work out there at my own pace. But, if someone came at me with a giant publishing deal, I don’t think I would shoo them away, either 😉

 

5, Have you ever thought about giving up? If you did, what changed your mind?

Yes and no. I’m pretty sure every writer reaches that point where they are frustrated with some part of the process, whether it’s creating and editing, or the trying to sell part. For me, the most frustration came with creating. It took me years, and years, (and YEARS) to get to the point where I felt like I wasn’t pushing out total and complete nonsensical crap. There were many times where I thought I couldn’t do it. I wasn’t smart enough, or creative enough, and other people would write their first novel and it’s all brilliant and wonderful and I wrote, like, twelve different books they all stink! Not fair! But giving up was never really an option. I knew I would eventually write something I would be proud to call my own, it would just take me longer. Everyone has a different learning curve, and different strengths. The only way to improve to your full potential is to keep moving forward. Ira Glass says it better than me.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PbC4gqZGPSY

 

6, Is there a genre that you would like to write? Something you would find a challenge?

I would love to write in a variety of genres eventually! And I find everything a challenge 😉

I’m currently contemplating a supernatural story, which will be a challenge since it’s a bit of a departure from contemporary romance, although there will be contemporary and romantic elements. I would love to write a historical novel, and I have a story line in my head that I’ve been thinking about for years, but I’m not sure I’m ready or skilled enough to write it yet.

 

7. Some authors tend to stay away from certain genre’s/categories. Myself, I can’t write YA. Is there one you know you can’t write or would have a difficult time trying to write?

I don’t like to say “can’t” because I firmly believe if you have enough motivation, you can do anything. However, have no desire to write MG or YA right now.  I have written YA in the past, so I can’t say it’s something I would NEVER do again, but I enjoy more adult themes (*winky winky*).

As far as difficulty…I would love to write a historical, but it would be very challenging keeping the language and everything as accurate as possible!

 

8. Let’s talk a little about your latest project. What is the title and what is it about?

My most recent release came out November 11th, 2014. It’s called Imperfectly Criminal, and it’s a murder mystery slash romantic comedy. It is a companion novel to my first book, Imperfect Chemistry and can be read as a stand-alone.

Here is the blurb: Freya Morgan thought it was a great idea to hire the bad boy on campus to beat up her douchebag ex-boyfriend after he cheated and treated her like crap. Fast forward a few months, and nothing she’s done has helped her get over the scars left behind by her ex. Not the paid beating, not the string of dates, nothing.

Dean Collins is in trouble, and it’s all Freya’s fault. After all, she started the trend of all the ladies on campus paying him to do their dirty work. But now, two of the boys he was hired to beat up are dead, and he’s the only connection.
When Freya agrees to help him find the real killer, she discovers that this bad boy isn’t so bad, after all. And getting involved with him means more than finding a killer, it means potentially losing her life…and her heart.

 

9. What do you hope readers will find interesting or unique about your story?

Most NA books these days are filled with angst and drama, and I try to offer readers a more humorous look at college life–trying to mix up the genre a bit! Also, a lot of NA romance has fallen into the tropes of the alpha male and virgin herione, and I like to reverse some of those gender stereotypes.

 

10. Most writers have manuscripts that will never see the light of day. Do you have a few of those?

Oh boy, do I! I have at least a dozen half-finished to completed manuscripts that I either couldn’t finish, or they just weren’t good enough. I have considered pulling some of them out to see if they can be re-worked into something usable, but unfortunately I doubt it!

 

 

Where to find Mary online:

Blog: http://marewolf.blogspot.com/

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/AuthorMaryFrame

Twitter: http://twitter.com/Marewulf

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/8179323.Mary_Frame?from_search=true

 

Mary EBWhere to purchase Imperfect Criminal:

Amazon: http://amzn.to/1xiOy53
B&N: http://bit.ly/1qEBJKX
Smashwords: http://bit.ly/1pSUiAd
Kobo: http://bit.ly/1tJf4x5

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

2 Responses to Author interview with Mary Frame

  1. We have such a similar writing history. We second guess ourselves ALL. THE. TIME. But you shouldn’t any more girl. You’ve gotten TWO books out there already. That’s a pretty big deal as far as I’m concerned. 🙂 Good job ladies. Big goat hugs!

Leave a Reply

