Writer In Progress; The Prophecies of Mortals, written by Darke Conteur

I had an author scheduled for this month, but after several weeks of not replying to my emails, I had to write this one off the schedule. I was going to let this installment go, but then I decided that I’d put up an excerpt from my own work. After all, it’s my site. Why the hell not?

The scene I chose is from the third chapter. It depicts some downtime for a couple members of the team, and yet that spectre of paranormal is always there. It’s a part of their lives whether they consciously want it to be or not. It also sparks a small doubt about Jezryall and what may lie ahead for the team.

~~~~~

Excerpt:

The-Prophecies-of-Mortals web resolutionBright colours flashed on the flat-screen television, as an animated explosion from the video game Martin played with Jared and Daniel engulfed the view.

“Damn,” Martin said, as his part of the screen slowly went red. “I didn’t see the bugger.”

Jared motioned toward the television. “I don’t know why you keep camping out there. Zombies spawn right around that corner.”

“Yeah.” Daniel yanked violently on his controller. “You’re just begging to get killed doing that.”

Martin looked at the screen. “Aren’t one of you guys going to revive me?”

Daniel jerked his controller. “We’re getting there.”

“We need to take out more zombies before we come and get you,” Jared said.

“Hurry up. It would really suck if I died.”

“No,” Jared tapped one of the buttons on his controller, “it would really suck if we died trying to save you.”

Martin sat back and watched the first-person action play out on the television. Shooter games were all right, but there was something unsettling about running around an apocalyptic background killing zombies.

“Take your time, guys. If I die, I die.”

Jared did a quick glanced at him. “No need to get all dramatic. Geez, I’ll come and revive you now.”

“No, that’s not it. I can’t get into this game. I guess killing zombies is not my thing.”

Jared lowered his controller. “It’s just a game.”

“Yeah I know, but…”

Daniel stopped the game and put down his controller. “We found some real zombies under the Russian Embassy a while back.”

An apologetic look washed over Jared. “Oh shit, yeah, I forgot about that.” He looked up at the frozen image of a zombie on the screen. “You know, these aren’t anything like real zombies. These things are more like Wraiths.”

Daniel nodded. “Yeah, just as fast, too.”

Jared smiled and nudged Daniel. “Remember that nest outside London?”

Jared’s laughter was full blown as Daniel shook his head and lowered it into his hands. “You should have seen him, Martin. He was running like Satan himself was chasing him. And screaming.”

“They just came out of nowhere,” Daniel said. “Just like in the game.”

“It was hilarious.”

“Not for me.”

Jared calmed down and leaned back in the sofa. “Sorry. Sometimes it’s easier to handle if I laugh about things.” He looked down at his hands. “Especially when it’s the really nasty stuff.”

“I don’t blame you,” Martin said. “It’s just lately, I’ve been trying to deal with this shit, and just when I think it can’t get any worse….”

Jared nodded. “Yeah. Been there. I did two tours in Afghanistan before this, and I didn’t think I’d ever see anything as horrible as the stuff from Hell. I sometimes wonder if people would kill as much as they do if they knew what was really out there.”

“Who knows, they might kill even more.”

Daniel stood. “Anyone want a beer?”

“Sounds good,” Jared said.

“Do we have any?” Martin asked.

“No, but I think we need alcohol and I can run to the store down the street quickly enough.”

Jared pulled out his wallet. “Here, my treat.”

Daniel took the money and headed for the staircase. “Anything in particular you want?”

“Nope,” Jared said. “Just as long as we can get drunk on it.”

Martin turned off the video game and put the controllers away. He could feel Jared’s gaze on him with each move.

“What?”

Jared shrugged. “Nothing.”

“No, there’s something.”

The young man slid to the edge of the sofa. “Okay, I have to know. No one else here will be straight with me, but I gotta know.”

“Know what?”

“What’s it like living in the same building as a sex demon?”

Martin rolled his eyes. “You’re joking, right?”

“No, I’m serious.”

“Why do you want to know?”

“Because she’s one of a kind. Did you know that?”

“Yeah, but she has no loyalty to any of her kind.”

“And you don’t find that weird?”

“Why? Should I?”

“Have you ever run across a full-blood demon?”

“No.”

“I have, and they’re nasty. Now don’t get me wrong, I like Jez and all, but she is part demon and the only way she can control that darker side is by feeding of the lustful energies of humans.”

Martin thought for a moment. “I’ve never seen her do anything like that.”

“Exactly, so how is she controlling that dark part of her? Unless there’s a romance going on here that no one knows about, how is she feeding it?”

“I dunno. Maybe she’s learned self-control?”

“From who? I know her history. When her mother died she was taken to live with foster parents. Then when they died she was taken to a monastery. We’re talking Dark Ages, too. Neither of those places would teach her anything about her darker side, let alone how to control it.” He paused for a moment. “Only that she was evil, born of evil.”

Martin thought for a moment. “I’ve never seen her feed on anyone. Maybe she does it in secret?”

“How she’s keeping it placid between feedings? And how much energy can she siphon from unsuspecting people? Can’t be much.”

A chill ran through him. “I don’t know.”

“If I were you, I’d want to know. With the way things are getting, she could let loose and take out a whole village.”

“She wouldn’t do that.”

“Really? If her human side is severely injured, you don’t think her demon side would take over in a heartbeat?”

Martin thought back to the incident at the Spire portal. The thing he saw attack those minions was blood-thirsty, and revelled in the carnage. Maybe she needed to give the demon a small burst of freedom every now and then to keep it under her control.

What if it liked the carnage too much?

What if it wanted more?

~~~~~~

Book Links:

Website: http://darkeconteur.weebly.com/books.html

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

Leave a Reply

