Writing Update for February 20, 2015

coollogo_com-1761011869 (1)I booked my editor for May. It’s been almost five years since I finished this book, and finally, it’s going to be out in the world. I’m so glad I didn’t decide to publish it back then. I think adding it to my paranormal series was the right thing to do.

Novel: Survival Rules
This is going to be a long book. I’m up to chapter twelve already and about 2/3 finished. Mind you, this is just the first draft. I’m positive there will be a lot of editing when it comes to revisions.

This has been an interesting story for me to write. The research I’ve done, has at times, left me a bit unsettled. Not so much about a plague wiping out the majority of the population, but the aftermath and survival. We rely so much on modern technology and infrastructure, that to have it all collapse around us is a frightening situation, but an interesting one as well. What would you do if there was no clean water? No food? None of the modern conveniences that we’re so used to? Would you know how to purify water for drinking? Keep warm? Find adequate shelter? Many apocalyptic novels I’ve read deal with survival in warm climates, but as I like to base my stories in Canada (Ontario to be exact), the stories take on new dimensions. Not only do my survivors need to look for all the same things as other zombie novels, but they have the added problem of weather and climate. This also will have a direct effect on the creatures as well. It’s been an interesting journey, and I hope people will like it too.

Wordcount: 80,019

Short Stories
I’ve got a couple requests to write shorts for two anthologies. One is a horror one, and the other is with the same publisher that I worked with before. I have an idea for the first, second might be a little harder. I have several ideas, but it’s collecting my Muse long enough for her to help me figure it out.

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

Leave a Reply

