From The Garden: A new growing season. A new growing space.

I can’t believe it’s that time again. It seems like FOREVER since I thought about gardening and growing plants. We had a really, really hard winter, and the snow melted very quickly (thank the Gods) and that’s always a good sign. Judging from my prediction for this summer (based on the weather on Good Friday), I think we’re going to have a good growing season.

First, a big change. For those of you who don’t know, we moved in with my mother. Happened a few weeks back. She has less property living in the city, but to be honest, that yard at our place was too hard to keep up. This is smaller property, but large enough that we can do some good gardens, and that’s what she wants too. Plus, I found a place that sells items for a Fairy garden! It was everything I could do to keep my excitement at a respectable level.

Anyway, here are the new gardens I can work on. There are three large areas to work with;
front garden

side garden

veggie garden

back lawn

Mom wants flowers and stuff all around the perimeter with maybe a focus on the center raised area. We’re not sure yet. I also plan on taking some of the plants from our old place and planting them here. Mainly the plants we got from Husband’s grandmother’s garden. It’ll take me about a whole season to figure out what can go where, but with the veggie garden so close to the house, it’ll be easier to get to it and work on it. I hated walking all the way across that lawn.

Anyway, new growing season, new garden. I can’t wait to get started!

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

2 Responses to From The Garden: A new growing season. A new growing space.

  1. It’s a great space! Lots of potential. You’ll probably only be able to grow flowers or hostas under the trees but the rest of the areas are up for nearly anything. Can you grow raspberries or grapes by the slatted fence?

    I’m glad to see winter finally gave up the ghost. It was a rough one.

    • There is a lot of space, contrary to what the pictures show. She has hostas around the house now, but she wants more colour, I think. A few of the trees have to come down, she says. Some kind of insect is destroying them. That gives us more light. I should be able to plant just about anything for this hardy zone.

Leave a Reply

