Of Writers and Prose: Getting caught up in your writing.

Quill-InkI have a problem. It’s one I’m sure many authors have from time to time; becoming so engrossed with their story that it begins to affect their life. Please tell me I’m not the only one.

Mostly, this comes by way of research and that’s where it got me too. I’ve been working on an apocalypse novel so doing research on survival is a necessity. I want the reader to really believe these characters can take care of themselves ‘off the grid’, as it were, and know what they’re doing. I did a lot of reading on homemade water purification, what to put in a bugout-bag, weapons one should carry, along with many other things. It got to the point where I found myself in a pet store, looking over the packaged charcoal they have for fish tanks and wondering how much one would buy. If the world fell apart tomorrow, there’s no way they’d have anything back up and running right away and fresh water is a needed commodity. Not to mention wandering down the hunting supply aisle in Wal-Mart looking at hunting knives and other needful things, all the time my husband was frowning at me and wondering what the hell I was doing because I told him years ago…I DON’T LIKE CAMPING!

*takes a deep breath*

Okay, where was I?

I understand that an author will put things from their lives into their stories, but how often do situations or circumstances from their stories insert themselves into authors lives? Everywhere I look I take note of whether or not that place would be safe if civilizations falls apart. What would I do? How would I react? Do we have enough food? Water? Q-Tips? What would be the items people would overlook? How can I use those overlooked items to survive…I mean, how can my characters use them to survive.

I think I’m a lost cause. If you need me, I’ll be at the Bulk Barn, figuring out how much six months’ worth of dried good will cost me.

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

2 Responses to Of Writers and Prose: Getting caught up in your writing.

  1. nemune says:

    I know this feeling all too well. Writing epic fantasy, there is no grid to speak of, so I need to think in terms of how certain people would survive. Such as starting a fire, skinning kills, and where they would take shelter.
    There are also small things that I think about. When I work on my urban fantasy, I start wondering if faeries would be able to walk near certain buildings. If a nightmare could jump out from shadows while I’m working, or if the shadows are too close to a church or iron fences. Okay, maybe not as bad as you but my brain is always working like that.

Leave a Reply

