The Recipe Box: Stuffed Baked Peppers

recipeboxOh my. I can see this being a regular on my dinner menu.

Only recently I’ve liked peppers of any colour. I always found them too hot to eat raw and didn’t always care for the taste of them on pizza (the only time I ever ate them cooked), but over the last few years, my taste buds have changed and now I can eat them both ways, but I prefer cooked. I find the flavour comes out more. Maybe it’s just me. Anyhoo…I’ve seen pictures of stuffed peppers and I finally decided to try them. There’s a little preparing ahead of the stuffing, but the prep time is nominal.

Ingredients:

4 to 6 large peppers (your choice of colour)

1 lb of lean ground beef

1 can diced tomatoes (I used Unico’s herbed diced tomatoes)

3 tbsp. Worcestershire

1 ½ cups rice

¼ tsp garlic powder

¼ tsp onion powder

¾ cup shredded cheese

Desired spices of your choice.

Salt (optional)

Directions:

  1. Pre-heat oven to 350.
  2. Cut peppers lengthwise and clean out pulp and seeds. Wrap each half in tin foil and place on baking sheet. Cook for 15 minutes. When they’re done, remove them from the foil to cool off.
  3. Cook hamburger in a deep skillet or fry pan. Drain off grease. Add can tomatoes, Worcestershire, garlic powder, onion powder, and spices. Mix.
  4. Add rice. Let sit for twenty minutes until the rice has absorbed most of the liquid.
  5. With a spoon, fill peppers with hamburger/rice. Depending on the size of your peppers, you might have some left over.
  6. Top with grated cheese.
  7. Place in pre-heated 350 degree oven and cook for 20 minutes.

IMG_20150527_173247Cooking the peppers a bit ahead of time cuts back on the overall cooking time for them. When doing some research on this recipe, I read some comments where people didn’t cook them a bit ahead of time and either left them in longer (and the hamburger/rice dried out/burnt) or the pepper wasn’t cooked enough. Baking them for a while not only keeps the shape, but you still get a bit of a crunch even after you’ve cooked them the second time. You can blanch the peppers instead of pre-cook as well. I think next time, I’ll cook them the second time on the barbeque.

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

Leave a Reply

