A little note…

We’ve hit the summer months, so my blog posts will be infrequent at best. I have a few ideas for writing posts, but for the most part I’ll only be putting up one or two a week, if that. There are a lot of things going on in my life, and I don’t have the time to work on my blog posts.

I’ve also come to a crossroads in my non-writing life. Writing will always be a major part of my life, but it’s not going to be all encompassing as it has been. I am content with putting out one novel per year, and to be frank, that’s all I want to do. I’m not a fast writer and I’m not giving in to pressure to put out a book once every six months to stay ‘viable’. That’s never been me. I’ve got a lot of stories floating around in my head, and they’ll get out into the world when they’re ready.

There are things going on in the writing world that seems to be pushing my buttons and lending to my retreat. I love writing and chatting with other writers, but there is too much entitlement taking over and I can’t be bothered to deal with that shit anymore. Honestly, I’m not in this to make a living, never was, but it seems that making money is the only thing writers are interested in now and I have no inclination to worry over whether or not my books are selling or on some chart somewhere. This constant ‘need’ to be on a top 100 or seen all the time is sucking the joy I have for writing, and I’ve had it. I will keep putting out books. If you buy them, thank you, but I’m not going out of my way to promote them. I will still give a signal boost when I come across an author’s promotion tweet or what not, and my Author Interviews and Writer-In-Progress will continue until the end of this year, and that’s it.

Best of luck to you all and have a great summer.

~Darke~

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

Leave a Reply

