Of Writers and Prose: Five problems with social media

Quill-InkFirst of all I want to state that these are my five problems, and not anyone else’s. Each person has different ideas and I welcome you to post yours in the comments.

#5. Finding time for social media

According to the ‘experts, we’re to spend a certain amount of time blogging, tweeting and facebooking about our book(s), and it has to be ‘organic’, especially when it comes to Twitter. Problem is I have other things to do during the day, including writing, and that cuts into my social media time which is why you normally see me active in the early morning.

#4. Not coming across like a spam-bot

BUY MY NEW BOOK! IT’S AWESOME AND THE BEST READ YOU’LL HAVE ALL YEAR! [link] Um… no. I dislike promotion even at the best of times and some of it makes me feel like I need to shower afterward. Yes, I understand it’s important, but that doesn’t mean I’m going to auto-tweet my book link when you follow me. I dislike that, btw and when it happens to me, I quickly un-follow. If I’m going to force something on you, it’ll probably be pictures of food or cats. You’ve been warned.

#3. Too. Many. Sites.

Every day there’s a new damn site that’s supposed to be the next Facebook or Twitter. To take it further, I’m sick of people saying you have to be on this site or that site. No, I don’t. I don’t like LinkedIn. Don’t see the use of it at all so I deleted my account there. Doesn’t keep people from trying to add me. Go right ahead, but I can guarantee I won’t respond. I only do sites that interest me. I recently hooked back up on Tumblr only because I’ve linked it to this blog and my Instagram site.

#2. Learning curves.

With each site there is always a specific amount of time lost learning how to use it. Take Tumblr for example. I had an account years ago when it first became popular, but it felt awkward to use, so I dropped it. I also didn’t like the idea that I’d have to re-post everything that I did on my blog or other sites. Somewhere in the last few years it’s become easier for me to hook everything together, which allows me to share more things and to a wider audience. Tumbler is still new, but at least I can use it more now.

#1. It’s a damn time-suck.

I both love and hate social media. I love how easily I can communicate with friends and the fact I can share special events in their lives or just support them when they rant/have a bad day, but sometimes scrolling through my feeds takes hours, and that’s time I could be doing something else. Like writing. Again, this is why you’ll find me most active in the early morning. Waking my brain up and preparing it for the day with feeds and coffee.

 

So, these are my problems. What are yours? Have you found a way to deal with them?

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

Leave a Reply

