A Darke Kind of Beauty: It’s all about the blues

The colour for spring is blue. This according to all the online fashion ezines I checked out. I really don’t have a problem with it, except that they like the 80’s bright blue, and I’m sorry, I wore enough of that colour the first time around. Yes, I’m that old.

I haven’t worn blue eye shadow in years, decades even, so I was a little upset this was the colour they chose for spring, but after looking around, I found some nice shades, and Urban Decay didn’t let me down either. I found a wonderful shade of blue that I proudly wear and blend in with the other shades. Yes, I said other shades. I refuse to have only one shade on my lids. I like the smoky eye style and I try to use it for all my colours.

IMG_20160420_082039

Revlon’s Avante Guarde 525 eye shadow [right], Urban Decay’s Haight

Not to be outdone, I found some blue nail polish in the bargain bin. These colours look good with the dark blue I found on the O.P.I site.

I alternated fingers when I painted them, which is why I’m holding the bottles so weird.

These are nice blues – almost an icy tone to them, but you need at least three coats to get the bottle look. They’re nice enough and hint at a rebellious side to your personality. It’s okay to wear pinks and purples, whites and reds, but with blues, you can step out of the ordinary and be a little rebellious.

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

Leave a Reply

