Writing Update: May 20, 2016

coollogo_com-1761011869 (1)Spring is not a good season for me. I got very little writing done, but it seemed as though life was really getting in the way this month. I’ve done very well on the blogging, but it’s only been – what, a month? Also, I’m signed up to upgrade my English at the college, so that will bite into my extra time come June, but I want to get this done and over with.

I’m working on revisions for Down Finnegan’s Hollow. That’s been a slow process as I can only get about two pages per day done. It’s not a major revision; just tightening up the prose and adding more detail. I may have to do one more pass when I’m done.

The plague novel has been on hold for a few weeks. I came up with a really good sub-plot, so there’s more danger than just plague zombies running around, but now I have to include it in the chapters that I’ve already revised, and that’s the problem. Again, slow going, but I think it’ll be worth it. I’m also looking at cutting a lot of what was in the original draft. It was boring anyway, and I came up with a really good ending which is a good tie in to the second book!

Last, but not least, I’m working on my Steampunk novel The Man from D.U.D.E again. It just won’t stop poking at me and I thought I could work on it during the weekends. It’s not going to be a long novel, maybe a novella, which is fine with me. It’s just getting the first draft done that’s a bugger.

How has your writing been?

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

Leave a Reply

