From The Garden: A June Update

It’s been a long time since I did any gardening. Last summer I didn’t feel like it, even though Husband did plant some tomatoes. This year I’m feeling a little more ambitious, but first a few pictures of the flower gardens.

Front garden is looking good this year. Still needs some colour down at the front. Maybe when the annuals go on sale we’ll pick some up.

IMG_20160601_083054

Remember the half-moon garden from last month? This is it now. It’s going to be a butterfly garden. below are some other flowers growing around the property.

Below are some of the other flowers around the property.

Now onto the veggies.

Beets and radishes in containers. They’re already sprouting, but I can’t remember which is which.

IMG_20160601_083212

Carrots will take some time. Two weeks to sprout.

IMG_20160601_083915

I read that you could grow cucumbers up a trellis, so I bought a sturdy metal one. I can secure it to the deck if need be.

IMG_20160601_083901

Red peppers. I was going for green, but when I saw the built-in trellis I thought what the hell.

IMG_20160601_083906

Basil. One of three herbs we bought this year.

IMG_20160601_083948

There are herbs in here….somewhere….I should do some weeding.

IMG_20160601_083230

How are your gardens doing this year?

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

2 Responses to From The Garden: A June Update

  1. mariazannini says:

    How deep is your carrot container? Unless you planted the short ones, you might run out of root space. Everything looks great though. I love the little blue flowers.

    Every year I promise myself I’ll include more flowers. I have more than last year but still pitifully few. I just don’t feel as confident with flowers.

    • It’s about six inches deep and they’re supposed to be small variety. We’ll see in a few weeks. That is, if the neighbourhood bunny doesn’t get to them first. 😀

Leave a Reply

