A Darke Kind of Beauty: Summer Eyeshadow Colours and Neon Blue with Sparkles Nail Art

I wanted to do this post earlier in the summer, but with school and work I never found the time. With my nails slowly growing back out, I’ve started messing around with some easy nail art. I’ve been chomping at the bit to do something that looks half decent, and my mind is racing with the possibilities. So much to do, and so little skill to do it with! So here is my latest attempt!

IMG_20160802_153742

This was a simple procedure, but one that had me using (ugh) eight coats.

  • Base coat
  • Two coats of Essie Blanc
  • Three coats of Ceramic Glaze Mermaid’s Tail
  • One coat of Essie On A Silver Platter
  • Top Coat

And the final result:

IMG_20160802_153927

I let the white and one coat of blue dry over-night and then applied the rest the next day; just to make sure everything was dry. The white and blue were both very streaky; hence the second coats for each. I was also concerned about the opaque of the blue and if it would look good without the white. I thought I’d try it this way first. The glitter coat was thick but it’s something I would use again.

I also got some new eye shadow for summer. The ‘experts’ were still calling on blue, but I was so sick of it I had to try something else. I’ve never worn green eye shadow before, but I found these colours and I just had to.

 

Now I used five colours for this. The two above and three from Urban Decay’s Alice Through the Looking Glass pallet.

I have hooded lids and large eyes so any eye shadow I apply is swallowed up the moment I open my eyes, making things like smokey eyes a challenge as you can only see it when I look down or close my eyes. It’s also the reason I don’t do cat’s eye eyeliner, but here’s how I did this.

IMG_20160702_103340

  • From lid crease to brow in Royal Flush (ATTLG pallet)
  • Lid in Heads Will Roll (ATTLG pallet)
  • Crease line Doormouse (ATTLG pallet)

Here’s where I experiment. For a smokey eye you’re supposed to put the dark colour all through the lid crease and blend it out. I only go half way with the dark and blend it out, then use the brighter colour on the opposite side.

  • Outer corner to half way lid crease – Balsam (Bobby Brown)
  • Inner corner to half way lid crease – Fresh Limonade (Sephora)

I gave this a name too; Summer Essence. The colours remind me of all aspects of summer. The two dark green remind me of grass and trees, the light green of popsicles we used to eat on hot summer days, brown for summer tans and the white of fluffy clouds. I should think up a name for the polish art.

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

Leave a Reply

