A Darke Kind of Beauty: 2 More #50ShadesofRedNailPolish

I’m still figuring out how to post these swatches, considering the infrequency that I do them. Between that and posting other nail art, I think doing four at a time is better. It lets you see the difference between the shades.

# 13.

Red Lights Ahead Where[mm]Name: Red Lights Ahead . . . Where?

Look at this! lucky number 13. When I started doing this back in June of last year, I figured I could do a colour a week. Doable, yes, but life has a way of changing my plans. Ah well, it’s all good. I’ve found some really exciting colours from several different companies, and an awesome red I can’t wait to show you! Anyway, for this installment we have another O.P.I product.

Description: This is a nice reddish-orange/coral colour that’s really good for summer. It’s an older polish, part of OPI’s 2012 summer collection.

Application: This colour goes on so smooth and the coverage is instant. No streaking or fast-drying smears (you know what I mean). This colour is good with just one coat but I like to put at least two, to get a good feel of the colour.

Application Process:

Sally Hanson Double Duty Top Coat (for a base coat as well)

2 coats O.P.I Red Lights Ahead . . . Where?

Wear and Tear: This lasted a full seven days without a chip. I would credit my topcoat, but the blue/sparkle polish I had on prior chipped after a couple days. With a base and top coat, you can easily get a good week with it.

 

#14

Bullish for OPIName: Bullish on OPI

This is an older colour from OPI’s fall 2009 collection called Coleccion de España. I was surprised with the colour and that I would like it as much as I did.

Description: I’ve read descriptions on this as a “warm red with yellow undertones”. It’s a nice colour to wear in the fall that compliments a summer tan.

Application: The polish was a little thick, but that may be because of the age. I like the thicker polish. I find it easier to work with.

Application Process:

  • Sally Hanson Double Duty Top Coat (for a base coat as well)
  • Two coats of Bullish on OPI.

 

Wear and Tear: Despite the age, this was incredible wear. With top and base coat it lasted the full seven days.

 

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

Leave a Reply

