Of Writers and Prose: I did it MY way!

Quill-InkI’ve just finished reading yet another blog post on the benefits (or lack thereof) of social media for writers. I’m really getting tired of the same old arguments rehashed over and over again:

Social media doesn’t sell books! (duh).

Blogging is dead! (Wait . . . what?)

OMG! NEWSLETTERS ARE THE WAY TO GET PEOPLE TO BUY YOUR BOOK! (*slowly backs away*).

I was struck by the realization of Andrew Sullivan’s latest blog post, you can find it here.

http://dish.andrewsullivan.com/2015/01/28/a-note-to-my-readers/

It in, he states that he “. . . want[s] to read again, slowly, carefully. I want to absorb a difficult book and walk around in my own thoughts with it for a while. I want to have an idea and let it slowly take shape, rather than be instantly blogged. I want to write long essays that can answer more deeply and subtly the many questions that the Dish years have presented to me. I want to write a book.”

So he’s retiring from the blogging world. I don’t blame him. I did the once-a-day posts and it damn near killed me, so I switched it up to once every other day and even that was hard. My posts now are not anywhere NEAR consistent. As I read on, a thought came to mind: if authors are tired of constantly putting out original content (because the experts tell us we have to, every day, FOR THE REST OF OUR FREAKING LIVES), what about those who READ those posts? I love reading things from my writer friends, but I don’t have time to sit and go through every single post on Twitter, Facebook or blog of all the writers I know. I wish I did, I really do, but there are so many hours in a day and I have a life outside of the internet. I suspect the majority of other people do too, so it comes to choosing.

To be honest, I am GRATEFUL to those writers who are inconsistent; who only blog once every couple of weeks or once a month. These posts are interesting, insightful. When I see a blog post from a writer friend who hasn’t posted for a while, I’m more incline to read it.

This gives me a quick insight on how they’re doing, what they’re doing (or not doing) and I can still do other things, like, you know . . . write.

Authors are doing social media THEIR way, and in doing so, made it enjoyable for them.

No, you don’t have to blog every day.

No, you don’t have to be on Twitter or Facebook for hours on end (unless you want to).

No, you don’t have to do anything that makes you feel uncomfortable, because in the end you need to do it . . . (say it with me) YOUR WAY.

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

14 Responses to Of Writers and Prose: I did it MY way!

  1. This is exactly what I’ve been experiencing. To make it even harder, we really should comment on every post we read – I know I’m always disheartened at the small number of comments I get on my blog. But it takes so much time!

  2. Nya Rawlyns says:

    Demands on authors are invasive, unrealistic and downright debilitating. To tell you the truth, I’d rather not write-to-publish than be victimized by expectations for “free content” (however that’s defined) and being available to every tom-dick-and-harry as a source of entertainment and “providing value”. I’ve had enough.

  3. Sessha Batto says:

    I have never been able to commit to blogging regularly. When I have something to say, sure, but most days my head is filled with stuff that doesn’t even interest me, much less readers. As to a mailing list…just no. I refuse to intrude on people like that. If they are interested I am easy to find, if not, well, that is their choice. Just like I don’t ask for reviews, or reads.

    • I used to, but yeah, the times and circumstances were different then. I rarely used my mailing list, so just this week I got rid of it. I dislike the way some book bloggers put in that you must have so many reviews before they will look at your book. How the hell are writers supposed to get reviews like that?

  4. My blogging was always spotty, at best, and has been non-existent for a year or so now. I find most anything I wrote about writing was said by countless others, and my observations about life, or gardening, or whatever, felt like talking out loud to myself. When it all became the “necessity” of self-branding, I reared up and backed away. The “must-do” aspect of social media, especially blogging, in order to create a brand is repellent. As you say, I do what I enjoy, and I enjoy the camaraderie. Period.

    • That’s the problem, it’s just the same info with barely a new twist. I’ve had a few people come to me wanting to know how to start a writing blog, and I tell them not too. There are too many out there already. If you’re going to blog, make it personal. That’s the way to connect.

  5. I’m way too scattered to be blogging and social mediaing (is this even a word?) every day. Funny thing is, I seem to be slowing gaining readers this way. I have no idea what really works, just what seems to work for me at the time.

    Great post, needed to be said. 🙂

  6. Garrett Ray says:

    I can absolutely agree with this. I think about my blog posts (and lack thereof) now and then. I berate myself for not getting to it on the regular and this, in turn, makes me want to back further away. I certainly do not want to feel an obligation to post. And you’re right. If we posted all the time, content would grow monotonous. You reminded me it is okay to focus on other things (like writing) and not be glued to social media.

    • It’s terrifying for new writers to hear they have to do all this social media stuff. It’s enough to turn them right off, and yeah, it’s starting to sound like the same old, same old. That’s one reason why I stopped.

  7. mariazannini says:

    Happy Thanksgiving!

    I’m a consistent blogger, and I’ve been doing it a long time. In the beginning, I read and blogged about writerly things, but I discovered (too late) that I was networking with only authors and not readers. I love my author friends, but after a while the same topics came up time and time again. There was nothing new under the sun.

    This is when I made the decision to broaden my brand with topics that were important to me.

    I don’t judge a blog’s success by whether it gets a lot of comments, but by how many visits. For some reason, Google ranked my blog post about Dog Alley (in Canton, TX) at the top of its search page. I get dozens of hits everyday for a really obscure item.

    I’d love to duplicate this phenomenon. Maybe the trick is to blog about unique or little known things.

    I think an internet presence is necessary, but blogging is not for everyone. We need to choose the channel that works best for each of us.

    • I love your blog posts. Always have and I’ve felt guilty not having the time to post on some of them. I agree, blogging isn’t for everyone. Hell, social media isn’t for everyone and it seems somewhat cruel that we’re forced to do it. 😦

Leave a Reply

