Of Writers and Prose: So I’m tanking at NaNo this year . . .

Ugh.

I knew this would happen.

This is the reason I haven’t participated in NaNo for the last eight years. I start off with the best intentions (don’t we all) but somewhere between the second and third week it all falls apart. I participated and won back in 2009 (that book – The Saints of Belvedere Road, is now for sale) but after that I got caught up in my series and didn’t want to start anything new. I wanted to get the other books in the series out so I focused on editing them during the month of November instead. Then came school and my job. Yup, no time there but this year I finished my course just before the start and I had this AWESOME magical realism story that begged to be told. I thought, yeah, I can do it this year!

As of this date (Friday, November 18) I am 10,548 words behind.

The US elections knocked the hell out of my ambition.  I just lost all enthusiasm to write for a few days. Then work called, and yada-yada-yada . . .

I’m making excuses. I know I am. I’m doing what any other person would do when they don’t feel like doing something, and to be honest there are days when I don’t feel like writing. I probably won’t make the 30k by the end of the month, and I’m okay with that. I’ll keep writing because in the end, I do really like this story and just want to get it out so I can work on something else.

Like my zombie/plague novels.

Or my vengeful ghost story.

nano2016

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

2 Responses to Of Writers and Prose: So I’m tanking at NaNo this year . . .

  1. I’m ready to admit that I may not ever write another book. It just is not happening. I did NaNo for two days, then gave up pretending. At the moment, the election result has me completely wiped out. I can hardly function.

Leave a Reply

