A Darke Kind of Beauty: Gel Nails!

I’ve had the worse time growing out my nails. They get to a certain length and either beak off because of work, or some other reason. Mostly because of work. This has become a serious problem for me and my nail art obsession. Enter Husband’s anniversary gift to me; a gift certificate to a nail salon! Seriously, does this man know me or what?

I’ve never had artificial nails before other than the glue on/press on ones. I did a little research on both gel and acrylic and was hesitant about getting them done because of possible damage to the nail bed (you have to ‘scuff’ the nail bed so everything sticks better). Well, I went in and had them done. Took all of 30 minutes and wow, I am so impressed!

img_20161117_144701

Look how perfect that manicure is! Look at the polish! She got NONE on my cuticles and it’s been the first time in years my all ten of my nails have been the same length. I got them short for work, but I might get them a bit longer next time. Yes, I said next time. My nails have become brittle and thin and I dislike the fact that only one hand ever looks nice. I will keep you posted as to how long they last. I’m hoping to get at least two weeks out of them, but the manicurist said if I take care of them, it could be as long as a month.

The colour is Bogota Blackberry Gel colour by O.P.I.

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

Leave a Reply

