From The Garden: A few odds and ends from 2016

Last June I planted a container veggie garden at the side of the house. It was the first time I’d attempted something like this, and it might be my last. The summer was so hot, and between work and school, I couldn’t keep up with watering. We got tomatoes late and those had black bottoms. The cucumbers did well on a trellis and two of the three herbs I bought did well too. I lost my dill. Apparently bunnies like it too.

img_20161117_144536

I pulled the rest of the veggies in early September and forgot about the ones in the flower boxes, that is, until I went to store them for the winter. The carrots really took off. They must need a longer growing season and the warm fall was perfect.

 

 

 

 

 

img_20161114_154511

My Christmas Cactus did well this year. I’ve seen some that are so huge, but I’ve never been able to grow them large. Either they end up with root rot, or I forget to water them all together.

img_20161105_144141We planted all sorts of spring bulbs this year. Mostly tulips, but some daffodils and others. The front garden looked like a mine field, but I can’t wait to see if they all come up. We planted a bunch of special tulips for Canada’s 150 anniversary and she said she bought a lot of just red and white ones too.

Here’s a link to what the special ones look like.

Canada’s 150th Anniversary Tulip Bulbs

And lastly, a squirrel and bunny in the back yard nibbling on greens. There were two bunnies, but by the time I got my phone the other was gone. This was taken in November when it was still really warm. We don’t rake the leaves up just so the critters can have places to bury their food. I’d rather mulch them up anyway. Good for the grass.

img_20161105_175050

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

2 Responses to From The Garden: A few odds and ends from 2016

  1. I didn’t know bunnies like dill. I’ve got some old dill seed. I might toss it in the field away from the garden. Maybe it will reseed itself and the wildlife can help itself to that.

Leave a Reply

