Writing Update: January 6th, 2017

writingupdateWow, it’s been six months since I’ve done a writing update, and I’m really ashamed to say that I haven’t accomplished much writing in those six months. I’m not a huge fan of forced writing but I don’t believe in ‘waiting for the Muse’ either. If I did that, I’d be spending my days doing nothing but waiting. So, what’s been going on?

I’m still revising Down Finnegan’s Hollow. I’ve had to go back over the first few chapters to make sure certain details were accurate. Mostly dealing with timelines. It’s a pain in the ass if you ask me but I want them to at least sound accurate. I fall in and out of love with this story and I don’t know why. Days I love it, I can’t revise enough, and days I don’t it doesn’t see any new work. Sometimes I feel like I’m revising a really old manuscript. The tone and structure just seems amateurish and I wonder why am I bothering. I would like to have this done and in a place that I at least like it again.

Plague novel is really exciting to me right now. I added in the extra bits I needed, and have a solid revision of the first six chapters. I also managed to connect these novels with the post-apocalyptic novel set in the future, so that’s cool. It’s just a matter of revising the rest of the first novel and finishing it. The second series is really cool too with a different take on some old monsters.

I did NaNo this year too. Didn’t finish but I got a good chunk done. My novel this time is a magical realism story. I’d like to see this one in the hands of an agent, as long as they don’t ask me to change it to YA. Nothing wrong with YA, but not every novel on the planet has to be YA.

Anyway, that’s it for now. I’m hoping to do an update at least once a month, so here’s to accountability and a new year!

How was your 2016 for writing?

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

Leave a Reply

