A Darke Kind of Beauty: Winter Skin Care

Ol’ Man Winter rolled over my area the third week of November. Seriously, we had summer-like weather almost right up to the point the snow storm blew through, but I was already prepared for the onslaught of cold, dry air that comes with a Canadian winter.

First of all, if you’re not looking after your skin in winter, you really should be. Not just on your face but your whole body. During these months the face and hands are the primary parts of the body that are exposed to the cold on a regular basis. The dry air sucks moisture from my skin leaving it dry, cracked, and itchy. I use a night cream for day and night application because the thickness of the cream can be used as a barrier to the cold air. If your favourite moisturiser has a night cream, I suggest using it in place of your day cream. Winter is also the time I use foundation. Again, it acts as a barrier between your skin and the air.

Daily moisturising is great, but once a week I do a spa treatment.  First of all, it’s fun. Second, many of the home spa packages have vitamins and minerals that promote healthy skin. For me, it’s also about giving my skin a much needed boost. Mature skin (like mine) needs a bit more care so I use three different products on a three week rotation. You may have seen my Instagram pics of me with a facial cream on. I don’t hide the fact I get down and dirty when it comes to my skin.

The three I use are;

img_20161127_103526 Lush’s The Sacred Truth. It’s specially made for mature skin. I love Lush. If you haven’t tried it, you must! They’re a bit pricey, but their products are hand-made with real ingredients.

img_20161127_103513

The second spa treatment I use is a collagen mask. One of the biggest wrinkle problems is the lack of collagen in the skin. This helps to replace it (also, taking vitamin C helps the body to produce collagen. The one I use is relatively cheap and you get two treatments per package.

img_20161127_103549

The third is a detox mask of blue clay by St Ives. Clay has been used for centuries on the skin and with the minerals in them they are great for pampering yourself. There are different colours depending on what you want or need. This article gives you a good idea of how clay masks work and what’s in them.

When purchasing any skin care product, do some research on products first.  Advertisers make you feel as though you need all of it, but you don’t. Stick to your skin type and what you want the product to do.

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

2 Responses to A Darke Kind of Beauty: Winter Skin Care

  1. Aging is not for wimps. It’s so weird going from the super-oily skin of my youth to the sandpaper I have now. I’ve found a great face cream (Bariani Olive Oil Company Face & Body Cream with Myrrh), and I use it every night, as well as on my hands. A side benefit, of which I have no proof, but suspect, is that is also helps me sleep ever-so-slightly-better. I think it’s the myrrh, which I never would have thought of using.

    Also: coconut oil. I rub some on my hands after dinner and sit for a while with my hands in plastic bags. It’s helped eliminate those open cracks on the tips of my thumbs. Those things hurt like hell.

    And? Having discovered that dryness attacks even the most sensitive parts of my body, my new intimate partner is Medicine Mama’s Apothecary Vmagic Vulva Care and Intimate Skin Cream.

    Arsenal of champions, right?

    • I don’t feel my age, and considering our skin is the first line of defense against the elements and from germs, we should be taking good care of it.

      My mother uses coconut oil on just about everything. I’m experimenting on home-made scalp masks and I think I’ll include coconut oil.

Leave a Reply

