A Darke Kind of Beauty: Greys and Berries

One of the things I like about winter is that I get to wear thee darker shades of eye shadow and lipstick. Last winter I was into shades of purple; this year its grey. I had planned on some dark shades of blue maybe even an ice blue, but I’m still not over wearing it all last spring.

Grey’s are nice; they can be soft or harsh and mix well if I did want to add some blue. I am a dedicated fan of Urban Decay, and I was disappointed when I couldn’t find any grey tones on the pallets I have. Don’t get me wrong; there are some nice shades on the Naked 1 pallet, but I wanted four grey-only shades that would complement each other. For that, I had to buy from the Sephora Collection.

 

These are nice shades and are easy to work with. There are three matt and two glitter with the center colour almost like a gun-metal grey. I can’t take a decent picture of them on; I tried three times and it didn’t look anywhere near as nice as it did on.

Another dark colour I’ve been waiting patiently to wear is berry-tone lipstick. I bought two this season – Rebel Chic from Sephora and Oh So Wicked from Rimmel. Both are excellent colours, and as you can see from the Rebel Chic is a matt while Oh So Wicked is a gloss. I like matts in winter. I find it more in character with the season than a gloss look. Gloss reminds me of summer.

winter-17-lipstick

Rebel Chic [top], Oh So Wicked [bottom]

The Rimmel [lower swatch] was so luscious and moist and it smelled SO GOOD, but didn’t stay on well. It also highlighted any lip flaws such as dryness and flakes, and as you can see from my swatch, it’s gloppy. The same with the Sephora but it wasn’t as prominent. Both did feather so I bought a lip liner.

These colours are also good for the holiday season as well.

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

Leave a Reply

