Writing Update: March 17th, 2017

npa-800pxWork has picked up again and so I’m getting more shifts. This has cut into my writing time, but mostly I’ve procrastinated because on my days off I just don’t feel like it. Some days my brain is just a blank and I hate the idea of forcing myself to write something, but I’ve still managed to get some done in the last month.

I think I’ve come up with a good title for my MagicalRealism/UrbanFantasy novel; EARTHENSTONE. I’m about seven chapters in and then I realised an important plot point (the conflict of how the MC enters this magical world) wasn’t as strong or as detailed as I thought it was. It also didn’t make much sense and it veered me off from the original outline I had. I went back through the first few chapters and tightened it up so hopefully I’m back on track.

I’ve been poking at another project that I will call AltHistory/ Epistolary novel. Epistolary means written as a series of documents. Think Frankenstein or Dracula. It’s based during WWI Canada, and will have an interesting twist to the outcome/duration of the war. It’ll still take four years, but things will not go as our history did. I’m especially interested to write out how the Suffrage Movement will be affected. WWI advanced it faster than any other event. I know this because I did my short thesis paper on it. The best thing about this story is that I’ve based it in Kingston and I want to include real events from that era. I plan on doing some research and reading over microfilm of newspapers at one of the university libraries. I actually get giddy when I think about it. I have about 1,500 words done and had to top as I needed some historical events to include and I still haven’t done any research.

I haven’t looked at SURVIVAL RULES since last month. Right now I’m more focused on the other two. That doesn’t mean I’ve given up on it, but Earthenstone and the other WIP are a priority right now. If I had more time I could work on it, but as I still need to do a serious re-write on the rest of the chapters I already have, I’ll need a lot more time and energy to work on it.

 

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

Leave a Reply

