Writing Update: April 28th, 2017

writingupdateWhat a month! Between work and other thing (dental, ugh) I’m surprised I got any writing done at all, but I did.

So here we go . . .

WIP Novel #1:

Okay, this story is messing with me. First I thought it was magical realism, now I think it’s just plain urban fantasy. I don’t know. I had to go back and revise certain parts to make the story sound plausible (plot-wise) and I’m almost caught up to where I left off. I still have chapter five to go over, and less that 1k on chapter six written.  I have a working title for it too – EarthenStone. For now.

WIP Novel #2: Survival Rules

Again, another plot revision and I’m up to where I left off, but because the story has changed so dramatically most of what I have written from before won’t be salvageable. I may be able to use some of it, but not much. I mean, I’m talking about the very, first, draft when my character was a whiney twenty-something and I’ve turned her into a recovering addict, and mother with military background. I’m on chapter eight and I have fifteen written. I’m also wondering if I can hold to my promise that this story will be told in one book, and not spread out over several. I’m close to fifty-thousand words now and only half-way through the story. It was the one thing that drove me nuts when I read other zombie novels; I’d have to buy three or four more books before the characters were in a safe place. I have two other stories planned for this series and I’ve made them all stand-alone for that reason, but who will buy a zombie novel that’s close to a hundred-thousand words?

WIP Novel #3:

Have I mentioned that I’m back into my cyberpunk novel? I’m just not happy unless I’m torturing myself? I don’t know why this starting poking at me again, but it did. I’m close to finishing the second chapter.

 

I got a few less blog post written during the last month. A few were due to lack of material or time. I have to make the time to write out posts and take pictures. It takes a while to get into a habit of doing things. Maybe a bit more time.

 

How has your writing been going?

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

Leave a Reply

