Movie Night: Rogue One; A Star Wars Story.

rogueoneIMBd Link: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt3748528/

Rating: PG-13

Synopsis:  All looks lost for the Rebellion against the Empire as they learn of the existence of a new super weapon, the Death Star. Once a possible weakness in its construction is uncovered, the Rebel Alliance must set out on a desperate mission to steal the plans for the Death Star. The future of the entire galaxy now rests upon its success.

– Written by Ryan Cullmann

 

Review:  I know, I know. I’m about six months late with this review. Ah well . . .

I don’t think there’s a Star Wars fan out there that hasn’t seen Rogue One yet. At first I was unsure if I wanted to watch this movie. It wasn’t the sequel to The Force Awakens (which after that cliff-hanger, we can’t wait much longer), but I felt Disney did a pretty good job with that movie so I was willing to give it a go.

All I can say is wow. Rogue One is dark and gritty, reminiscent of The Empire Strikes Back and reminds me a lot of that movie. Our heroes are out-numbered and narrowly escape death several times. It doesn’t have the swashbuckling feel of the series movies, but it’s full of enough action and adventure to please any die-hard fan. With new worlds and a glimpse back in time before the story line of Luke and the gang, there are some references that fans will pick up on. I’m not getting into the ending but I have a feeling we’ll be seeing them again. Maybe?

 

5 out of 5

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

Leave a Reply

