Movie Night: Suicide Squad.

SuicideSquadIMBd Link: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1386697/

Rating: PG-13

Synopsis:  A secret government agency recruits some of the most dangerous incarcerated super-villains to form a defensive task force. Their first mission: save the world from the apocalypse.

Review:  I was skeptical about watching this movie. I’d heard it didn’t get very many favorable reviews (bloated cast) and something about the majority of Leto’s scenes cut out, but Husband picked it up and there was nothing on television.

I have to admit, I liked this movie.

Now I’m not a DC fan, and I think they do better on the small screen (The Flash, Arrow, Gotham, etc) and I think they’ve rebooted Superman and Batman more times than Marvel has rebooted The Hulk, but this movie didn’t make me reach for my tablet half way through to start playing Candy Crush. It took a bit to get started; explaining who each character was (for those who don’t read the comic), but unlike other movies I’ve seen it didn’t get bogged down with extra detail and explanation.  Once the action started it didn’t stop and the villain didn’t suffer from what I call ‘Terminator Syndrome’ (where the villain keeps coming back after we think he/she is dead). I was a bit confused as to why the joker was even in this movie, as he served no point other than being back story and a failed rescue attempt. A large cast ensemble can work; and it does in this movie. Each member of the squad was useful and served a bigger purpose. IF they make a sequel, I’d watch it. I might even pay money to see it at the movies. There was one plot hole that Husband caught, but other than that, I think he liked it too.

 

4 out of 5

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

Leave a Reply

