Writing Update: June 23rd, 2017

writingupdateThis week we usher in summer and I’d like to say that I stuck to my timetable and have some of these WIPs complete, but that would be lying. I keep jumping back and forth between projects, or create new ones. The way I write, I’m surprised I have six books published, but I have been writing, so that’s a good thing. I have cut back on how many projects I’m working on. Just two for now; one novel and one script.

Okay, so here we go . . .

 

WIP Novel #6: Down Finnegan’s Hollow (thriller)

Work on this novel is gradual. I have managed to revise the first three chapters, incorporating the new plot idea that I live tweeted about. I cut out several characters and switched the protagonist to one of the others, but nothing’s set in stone. Even as I write this, I’m wondering if it’s too ‘predictable’. I have an alternative idea that won’t take up too many revisions, but I want to get this run-through done first before I see if the alternative would work better. Will probably need to send it to a beta reader.

 

3# Malice (supernatural tv series)

This month, I worked on some script writing too. As some of you know, I have a zombie-plague series that I poke at. It’s gone through as many revisions and plot twists as DFH. A while back I wondered what the lives would be like for the descendants of that same plague. Rebuilding the new world from the ruins of the old one, and what would happen to the plague zombies that I created. As I explored this idea, it occurred to me that maybe new creatures would pop up, a direct result of the plague. So many new and interesting things could happen, and it would have an old west feel with some surviving modern world tech. Not Steampunk either. This idea captured my imagination and I started writing it as a novel, but then realised that it’s more of a script sort of thing. I’m taking the seven chapters that I wrote and turning each into an episode. So far I have part of the first two episodes written, but this way I can explore the characters more in depth, which is what I was hoping to do through the novels.

I like script writing, and I’m getting better at it. Like all other forms of writing, practise makes perfect, right?

 

Anyhoo . . . this is all I’ve accomplished in the last month.

How about you? How has your writing been progressing? Anything exciting you want to spill?

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

Leave a Reply

