Movie Night: Weekend at Bernie’s.

This movie never interested me, but watching an episode of Friends the other night (the one where the girls lose the apartment), one of the questions was ‘What is Rachel’s favourite movie?” Weekend at Bernie’s. I saw it was on one night (rather late), I set my tv to record and went to bed.

Now some movies from the 80s are timeless classics, with storylines that transcend the years. Terminator is one and The Breakfast Club is another. Weekend at Bernie’s is not. I watched it for forty minutes and then shut it off and deleted it. Maybe I’m too old, but the plot of the boss wanting the mob to kill off a couple of low-end workers just doesn’t appeal to me. The plot felt very 80s too, and I bet at the end, the two hapless co-workers not only beat the mob killers, but the guy got the girl, and they ended up with money too? Yeah, whatever. It falls into the category of ‘those’ 80s movies; Mannequin, Weird Science, Licence to Drive. I call them dumb comedies, and I didn’t like them then, don’t like them now. Had I known what it was about, I doubt I would have recorded it.

I understand that the movie was a product of it’s time, and as I look back at other movies of that era, I can understand why. Sex, drugs and rock‘n roll, right?

Sometimes it’s not worth it to go back.

1 out of 5.

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms of Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal is to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing, she spends her time collecting crystals, knitting, gardening, cooking and listening to very loud music.

2 Responses to Movie Night: Weekend at Bernie’s.

  1. I’ve found that even if I liked a movie or show back in the 80s they don’t always age well.

  2. Agreed, and I don’t think they should be remade either. Sometimes the plot is just not worth it.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.