Writing Update: March, 2024.

Wow, I haven’t done one of these since October. I didn’t realize it’s been that long. Sounds about right though. When I got promoted to full time, that took away about seventy percent of my writing time. Even with my calendar I still either forgot about posts or couldn’t find a topic idea, but here goes.

Marked

Do you remember me writing this out as a script? Well, I figured there’s a better chance of people reading it than watching it as a movie, so I’ve been reformatting it into a stand-alone. I have two more movie scripts that I want to publish in the future. One is the script I was writing based on the video game Blur and the other is a near future thriller I stared during the pandemic. It’s literally a pandemic story.

Cashe

This story is coming alone nicely. I have the antagonist in custody, and now the fun part begins, because things are going to happen that will show that maybe the bad guy isn’t really the Bad Guy. Know what I mean? Things are going to happen that are impossible for the supposed antagonist to be able to do. That’s going to bring up more questions.

Zombie Book 2

I forgot how much of the original plot was in this second book, and it’s been a long haul of removing and rewriting scenes. I decided not to kill off Arlo (I like him too much), but Tamikia is out of the picture for most of the book, and the people she’s with are playing head games on her. I just wrote out a scene this month that shows just how far they’ve messed with her, and I doubt she’ll be with the group for the rest of the journey. I’m not killing her off. She still has a part to play in all of this, but I’m not sure if it’s good or bad.

Ghost Book 2

This story is messing with me. I’m not sure just how many ghosts I want in the house. Should it be just the bad one, or more? I can make this a really creepy house and have the mother wandering the halls looking for her children (which is a really good idea), but would that be too confusing for the reader? I’ll figure it out after I’ve finished the first draft.

That’s it for this month! Next month my update will include my high fantasy, another Malice update, what the character of Cashe are doing, and how my zombie novel characters are faring in their new world.    

If you’re curious to find out in more detail about the stories above, consider signing up for my newsletter HERE! Or, if you like, for $1 you can subscribe to my Patreon and read about everything from the state of mind of the characters and why they take the actions that they do, to snippets, to who knows what else! If these stories sound interesting to you, you can sign up HERE. Until next month!

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms of Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal is to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing, she spends her time collecting crystals, knitting, gardening, cooking and listening to very loud music.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.