Background Noise

I have been rather down in the dumps lately. Nothing to do with my writing, that’s going fine, but more along the social side of writing. A few sites I hang out at online, lately have become a massive wall of self-promotion. Facebook and Twitter have stopped being fun and become a wash of ‘Buy my book!’ or, ‘Read my blog!’. Many of the regulars I talk to haven’t’ been on lately either. Maybe they see it to and are avoiding it as well, or maybe they’re busy writing instead of whining. 😛

Don’t writers just talk to each other anymore? Has the need to self-promote become that strong? I don’t bother with writing hashtags after 8:35 am because it becomes a stream of blog links. Yes, a link to my blog comes up when I post something, but I don’t put a hashtag on it. I did for a little while, until I saw that it got lost in the crowd. What’s the point of doing that when it becomes background noise? And I’m sorry, when you have so many people all shouting the same thing at the same time, that’s all it becomes, background noise.  

The way I look at it, if people want to read what you have to say, they will. You don’t need to go begging for readers. If people read my blog, great! If they don’t, well that’s fine too because my blog is for me, not other people.

I let you all discover the voyeur within you and peak in from time to time. Come on, you love it and you know it. 😛

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms of Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal is to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing, she spends her time collecting crystals, knitting, gardening, cooking and listening to very loud music.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.